1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma for global use?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by SwissTony, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. SwissTony

    SwissTony
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am interested in buying a 37-42 inch plasma display that I can use right away with my Sky box and (component video out) DVD player that can tune a PAL B/G/I TV signal. So far so good.

    However it is very likely I will move to the US or perhaps China within 12 months so I would like to ensure that I could still use it in both those locations (perhaps with an external tuner) but without any voltage down conversion ie 120-240 V.

    It must also be HD capable (so DVI or HDMI HDCP input) and 720p/1080i resolution.

    Anyone got any reccomendations for a good screen that would fit the bill in the £2000-£3000 range?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    buy one when you get there, US is much cheaper than UK and i guess china is (if you can get good Jap Panels) Pioneer 435XDE fits but not sure about power supply,
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The power is the big one, and no point in the xde, as US nor China have digital terrestrial, IIRC the media box has a voltage switch but the panel doesn't. Anyone know the mains voltage in China? If not, I can email the consulate, my neighbour works there at the moment!
     
  4. SwissTony

    SwissTony
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pioneers are great but unfotunately 120 or 240 V only.

    However I think I found an option today after a little internet searching .
    The Yamaha PDM 4210 is 120-240V and features ;
    1024 x 1024 display
    1 x scart
    1x S video
    2 x component video input
    1 x DVI (HDCP)
    1 x RGB.

    Its also about the same price in the US and the UK.
    Anyone got any opinons on this model?

    It looks as if Hitatchi, Fujitsu and NEC also make some multivoltage models but this seemed to have the best spec
     

Share This Page

Loading...