Plasma for computer

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Tyko, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. Tyko

    Tyko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The best plasma for computer use (90% of the time)?
    -clean text
    -hig res (at lest 1024 x 768)
    -more then 16 million colors
    -DVI
    - 42/43 inch

    Good for Word, programmering, surfing, DivX, games etc

    Thanks
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    My vote goes to the pio.mxe
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Yep, I'll second that.

    Steve
     
  4. Tyko

    Tyko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks.

    Can you guys plz take some pic of PDP-433MXE when it connected to a comuter and run someting like, Microsoft Word, Internet Explorer.


    Thanks


    sorry for my bad eng
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    One consideration for computer use is square pixels, if display does not have square pixels the computer image will look "fat" and distorted.

    If you want square pixels with a 16:9 plasma or LCD screen you should choose resolutions that match this ratio: 852x480 or 1366x768.

    Also consider that DVI connection will give you the best image quality.

    StooMonster
     
  6. Tyko

    Tyko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks

    can you give me any model that support:
    852x480 or 1366x768
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about the possiblity of screenburn from icons, taskbar and other stationary object?
     
  8. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    852x480 Panny 37" & 42 (low res version)
    1366x768 Panny 50"
     
  9. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi,

    Have you considered an LCD display instead of a Plasma mainly due to the probability of screen burn due to high PC usage.

    Sharp now make a 37" screen with a resolution of 1280x768..I think...not that much smaller than a 42/43" plasma...but more expensive I guess.



    Cheers, Lee
     
  10. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Hello Nathan! ;) I use Windows XP on my plasma daily -- surf for hours (even post to this forum), play UT2003 and BF1942, also use my GameCube -- no sign of any burn in. (Yet.)

    loonatic: that's still got rectangular pixels. Tyko could choose a PC monitor and make HTPC, Sony and Samsung both do lovely 10:9 ratio 24" LCD monitors with 1920x1200 resolution (10:9 and therefore square pixels) for about £2000 each.

    StooMonster
     
  11. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Also 852x768 are 32" Philips, 42" Fujitsu (non ALiS models), JVC, NEC, Samsung and Toshiba.

    Also 1366x768 are 50" Fujitsu, JVC, Sony and Toshiba.

    And 60" LG at 1280x720 is square pixels too.

    StooMonster
     
  12. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Also consider that you will have to use PowerStrip to get custom PC resolutions of 852x480 or 1366x768.

    StooMonster
     
  13. Tyko

    Tyko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so Pioneer 433MXE is not so good for computer user?
     
  14. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +35
    my friend is running his hitachi 400e at 1024 768 and the quility is as good as the pioneer maybe better
     
  15. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Perhaps if you do not mind rectangular pixels this could be an option.

    1024x768 on 16:9 are the most rectangular pixels, much more so that 1280x768 on the PioMXE for example.

    StooMonster
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Llyama have a 40" LCD waiting in the wings, 1280X768. This will run out of the box on a Radeon, and rectangle distortion is not discernable. It's an issue with the MXE certainly but not with DVD, you can compensate to make the image the right proportions. 1024x1024 screens are to be avoided, they are actually 1024x768 with on board software interpolation.
     
  17. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    I demoed both the Fujitsu and Hitachi 1024x1024 ALIS panels running at up to 1280x768 from a laptop running XP and both were perfeclty acceptable to me for "serious" use (Word, Excel, IE etc). If you want to use it as a HCPC then maybe the correct dot-for dot res with square pixels will be more of an issue.

    I would get a demo arranged and see for yourself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice