1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma for £765.10. Has anyone purchased one ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by redsetter, Jun 3, 2005.

  1. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been looking for a Plasma screen and noticed the Maxent 42" Plasma advertised in the Independant newspaper for £765+vat I do not know the brand and was wondering if anyone has purchase one. The model is Maxent MX42le7 and I have seen it advertised at order247.co.uk and savastore.com
     
  2. chimpmagnet

    chimpmagnet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Haven't seen this but noticed that Dixons are doing the old Samsung 42" for £998 (inc VAT) now. Can't remember the model number now, PS42 something.
     
  3. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your help. I am going to order one of these however they have emailed me the specification and it shows a resolution of 1280*720p @ 60hz. From what I have read this should do HDTV ?
     
  4. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    Number of Pixels is 852 (H) x 480 (V) and no HDCP, so it won't really do HDTV.
     
  5. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The resolutions on the email I have received are:

    SVGA 800x600@56hz
    XGA: 1024x768@60hz
    SXGA: 1280x1024@60hz
    HDTV: 1280x720p@60hz
    HDTV: 1920x1080i@60hz

    Contrast ratio 2000:1

    Does this mean this is HDTV ready ? and if so what is concerning me is why its so much cheaper than any other supplier
     
  6. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is not.
    It hasn't got at least 720 Lines.
    It won't do 720p and 1080i at 50Hz.
    It hasn't got HDCP.
     
  7. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. This HDTV is quite confusing.

    Is HDCP short for component because the info says it has component.

    To be honest I was not looking for a HDTV plasma, due to price, however I was getting quite excited when it looked like this one could do it.

    I think I will order one as I ca't find anything cheaper with this specification and I really appreciate your help.

    Is there a web site you can recomend that I can read up about Plasma ?
     
  8. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    to be honest, this forum is probably the best place for honesty. If you look in the search bar you will find info on any plasma available.
     
  9. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    Heaven, no!
    High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP):
    HDCP is a specification developed by Intel Corporation to protect digital entertainment content across the DVI/HDMI interface.


    This is NO HDTV Plasma.

    Do what you have to do, but remember that this ist not a HD Ready Plasma.
    Read about HD Ready here: http://www.eicta.org/2/ELOJOKABMGNB...s/DLS/Licence-2005-TRPGBroadcast-00002-03.pdf
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Be careful ! Being able to accept these resolutions and actually displaying them are two very different things ! In any case, HDTV@60Hz is not going to be of much use to you if you want HDTV in the futuure.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the best resource for info on plasmas is here there are lots of PLasmas that will give you a picture with an HD feed but arent "HD ready" if you are looking for the cheapest of cheap things then dont let things like Picture quality worry you
     
  12. bigtired

    bigtired
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
  13. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have ordered one today but from order247.co.uk.

    It was £50 cheaper.

    Will post when I have received it and let you know what I think
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    brave man..let us know how it goes
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Funny it doesn't seem to accept any 50Hz signals. It might not be PAL compatible at all.
     
  16. Tomo

    Tomo
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have one and it is pal compatable .......... it does accept 720p according to the manual.

    im very happy with my cheapo plasma :thumbsup:
     
  17. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your response.

    Order247 have just called me to confirm delivery for Tuesday and your response is a great help.
     
  18. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does this have a VGA connection ?

    Certainly looks tempting for a first Plasma purchase
     
  19. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the specification I got emailed

    MX-42LE7
    42 Inch PDP TV

    Specification

    MX-42LE7

    Display
    Picture in Picture
    Screen Size 920 mm x 518 mm (42" Diagonal)
    Chassis Size 1080 mm (W) x 680 mm (H) x 110 mm (D)
    Aspect Ratio 16:9, 4:3, Cinerama Compatible
    Resolution 1280*1024 SXGA at 85 Hz
    Pixel Pitch 1.08 mm
    Contrast Ratio 2000:1
    Brightness 1000 cd/m2
    Displayable Colours 16.77 Million Colours
    Viewing Angle 160 Degrees
    Signals
    Synchronization (Auto Detect)
    Horizontal Frequency 15 kHz/31~91 kHz
    Vertical Frequency 50~85 Hz
    Input/Output
    DVI Input DVI 24 pin x 1
    RGB Input D-Sub 15-pin x 1
    RGB Output D-Sub 15-pin x 1
    Video
    Tuner PAL/SECAM x 1
    SCART Input X 1
    S-Video Mini DIN 4-pin x 1
    Component Video Signal RCA-pin x 1 (Y/CB/CR, Y/PB/PR auto detect)
    Audio Input RCA-pin (L/R) x 3
    Audio Output RCA-pin (L/R) x 1
    Control Port
    RS-232 D-Sub 9-pin x 1
    General
    Power Supply 100V~240V/50~60Hz
    Power Consumption 380 W
     
  20. Da_Rude_Baboon

    Da_Rude_Baboon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    I'm no expert but i haven't seen ANY 42" plasma with that res before. :nono:
     
  21. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    physical resolution is 852*480. This is just one resolution it takes from the DVI input.
     
  22. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Seems strange to get a plasma with no VGA input
     
  23. Tomo

    Tomo
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    it does have a VGA input :) my dvd player has a vga output and i found the component with PS much better.
     
  24. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm looking to use a JS Tech Scart - VGA Convertor see
     
  25. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    15 pin d-sub is VGA
     
  26. Tomo

    Tomo
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    Dont bother with the VGA at all the component in is way better ...... the VGA looks grainy ........ in my opinion.
     
  27. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    tomo any chance of some screen shots / pics of the screen? have you seen any brand name plasmas to compare to? (eg panny pw or viera)
     
  28. redsetter

    redsetter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I received the Plasma and it's fantastic and the picture quality is superb.

    The manual states it will do HDTV but from reading some of the other postings I am confused with the pixels.

    The only down side was the courier would not help me into the house with the Plasma and it was a real struggle but well worth it.
     
  29. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    it will do hdtv but will downscale it to its own resolution 852x480 i belive, so you will effectively be seeing SD. any chance of a screenshot redsetter?
     
  30. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Compared to what?
     

Share This Page

Loading...