1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma Connectivity

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by LDJ, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    OK, I’ve been seduced into entering the world of the plasma display by all I have seen and read, but before I go ahead and take the plunge, there are a few things I’ll like to clear up. I’m almost certainly going to opt for the new Panasonic 42PWD6 Gen 6 display, mainly due to the positive opinions displayed on this forum! However, I’ve never seen one in the flesh, and would ideally like to do so before buying. Hence, my first question is, is there anywhere in South Wales (specifically I'm based in Newport, Gwent) that has one of these I can demo? Long shot I know, but does anyone know of somewhere?

    Then there comes the issue of connecting it all up. To ease things I’ve attached a small diagram (ahhh, lovely pictures) but basically my current TV (a 37” Tosh CRT) has three scarts which prove perfect. From the first scart I run a Tivo (and from there three other devices inc. a digibox), from the second I run a DVD player (also connected to the telly via optical co-axial, but that’s irrelevant for the plasma side of things) and from the third we have a CCTV camera connected relaying images from a CCTV camera located on the perimeter of the house.
    What I’m wondering is, how the hell will I connect all these up to the 6th Gen Panasonic?!?! Even if I add the scart board, that only adds a single scart socket doesn’t it? I thought about getting a decent quality 5-way scart box, but the CCTV camera delivers a constant feed from outside and I’m wondering if this will interfere with things? At present its connected to the TV and when there is activity it will turn the TV over to the correct scart channel automatically, and I’d like the same behaviour from my next setup – is this possible with a scart splitter box? If so, will this interfere with the other scart devices connected to the box?

    I notice the 6th Gen Panny comes with a Mini D-sub 15-pin socket, whatever the hell they are. What use are these, and can you connect them up to anything of use (i.e. not a PC)? My DVD player has component output, so I’m guessing this is worth adding to the plasma, but how would I connect the rest?

    Thanks for reading,
    All information appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Isn't it annoying how you cannot see the picture when typing a reply...

    The simplest thing to do would be to keep your current system up to and including the connections to the screen.

    Since you currently connect everything via SCART, do you know what kind of signal is being passed? Are they RGB-s SCARTor composite?

    You could get a relatively cheap AVR and plug all your "screen" connections into it, and then take a single feed from the AVR to the screen, but you might have to do some fancy footwork with all your remotes to route the signal through.

    A more elegant solution might be to plug everything into the AVR and route your signals through that. You would need one with a good few inputs and outputs to handle all your gear. Also if you want to mix signal types, you may need an AVR that can do up-converting (i.e. composite or s-video to component). Some cheaper AVRs can only switch or route between inputs and outputs of the same type. This also depends on how many simultaneous connections of different types you can make to your screen.

    I need to look at your picture again, but I can't when I'm typing this :D
     
  3. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    The first two are RGB, the last is not, that is simple composite (its only a low-res image anyway, so its not an issue).

    I notice you can add a connector to allow you to use the 5-series tuner box. Does anyone have any opinions on that? does it produce a good result? what about connectivity - what does it offer?

    many thanks
     
  4. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    LDJ,

    I'm running a panny 6 with a scart card and a Quintro scart switch. I run DVD direct into the panny (component connection), then FreeView, XBox and PS2 into the quintro and from there to the single scart on the panny. Works perfectly - inputs auto-switch through the Quintro when stuff turns on/off, and auto-aspect switching is handled really well by the panny.

    I'd guess that your CCTV is using pin-8 switching to switch inputs. Most scart switches will handle that without a problem.

    The Mini D-sub 15-pin socket on the 6 series can be used either for a PC input, or it can be configured for a component signal - from your DVD for example. You'd just need a component to 15-pin DSub cable for that (saves on the cost of a component card if you're never going to connect a PC to the display).

    As to the tuner box - I'd say give it a miss. You've already got a FreeView box so, assuming that's working well, it'll give you a better picture than the panny tuner (digital vs. analogue). About the only thing you'll miss is good old analogue teletext.

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  5. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks very much - just the kinda info I was looking for (thanks also to DB - much appreciated).
    Regarding the Quinto, it sounds perfect - is there anywhere I can read more about them and that sells them? how many inputs do they accept?

    As for the component to 15-pin DSub - does this cause any loss in quality?
     
  6. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi LDJ,

    Try here for the Quintro:-

    http://www.hificables.co.uk/acatalog/SCART_adapters.html

    I can fully recommend the service from HiFiCables - usually next day delivery.

    Regarding component into a VGA, I wouldn't expect to see a loss in quality over BNCs or RCAs. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  7. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Quintros are pretty cheap here (takes a bit of finding - use the search to find the BTECH BT945).

    Would second Dutch's comments on the VGA quality, although I haven't tried for myself.

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  8. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Wow = big difference in price there!
    So basically I could get the Panny 6 series with the added scart adapter thingy (sorry for the jargon! ;) ), A component to 15-pin VGA cable and one of those quattro's and bob's your mothers brother?

    All suprisingly simple! :)

    P.s. Going to Demo a 6th Gen tomorrow morning. Rang up a local specialist Panasonic dealer and they were just connecting one up they had at lunch time - talk about lucky. Only downside is he "thought", but was not sure that it was price at £39965.95! :(
     
  9. Tee Tee

    Tee Tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Been watching all the Panny 6 threads with some interest as mine is arriving tomorrow!

    Cwick, can I ask where you got your componnent to 15 pin D-sub cable from? I've seen a couple via the usual web search but am a bit confused as some are advertised as being uni-directional (ie from component to D-sub OR D-sub to component). Any idea which one I need (connecting DVD to plasma via component)?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  10. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi Tee Tee,

    I'm not using one of those cables - I'm using a straight component cable.

    Liam at av-sales.com will be able to help you out though - he had one of the cables you're after on hand when I demo'd the panny on thursday. I'm sure he'll be more than happy to flog you one.

    Have fun with your new panny tomorrow :smashin:

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  11. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Well, I went to see the new 6er this morning at a local panasonic dealer and it was all a bit of a let down really! :(
    By that I don’t mean the screen was a let down, but their setup. I couldn’t believe it, but they had it smack bang in the main window, the sun was shining directly onto the screen and you could barely see the screen, let alone the image it was displaying! :(

    Inside however, they had two 5-series Panasonics beautifully set up and configured and they looked fantastic. They were showing Sky news and everything looked fantastic – I get the impression they desperately want to shift the old stock before they focus upon the new six series. All I can say is that if the 6-series is better then the 5, then it will do for me.

    Price wise, they had the 5’s on sale for a no so tempting £3799.99, and were hesitant even to give me a price on the 6’s…
     
  12. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Blimey! £3800 for a 5 series Panny? These are available for about £2560 for the PWD5 or under £3000 for the PW5B. I guess they'll be wanting over £4000 for a PW6B. :eek:

    Steve
     
  13. LDJ

    LDJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    My thoughts exactly!:thumbsdow
    Needless to say, I'll be buying online.
     
  14. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    On VGA type plugs (15 pin D sub) the RGB signal is on the same pins in both directions.... hence uni-directional!
     

Share This Page

Loading...