1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma Connections

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jimdefruit, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. Jimdefruit

    Jimdefruit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am thinking of getting a 42" plasma to replace my old Sony crt.

    At present I have a Toshiba RD-XS32SB HDD/DVD video recorder feeding the crt via scart. My sky box connects to the XS32 via scart.

    Am I right in thinking that I can just connect the component output if the XS32 to the plasma and everything will be ok?

    I also have a second satellite box connected directly to the Sony crt via scart. I presumably would need a scart input to the plasma as well as the component. Is there an input facility for both scart and component.
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +469
    depends what you go for, but most offer component, scart and vga....will either be included or available as options depending on which screen and which deal. You could run second sky box to vga using an rgb to vga converter such as the JS which is highly regarded. Or if you have an amp you could connect everything via that.
     
  3. Tony 21

    Tony 21
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Slightly sidetracking, Iv`e seen "routing the connections through your amp" on a few threads on this forum since i joined about a week ago.
    I have a Denon AV2802 receiver, Sky+, sony dvd recorder, all hooked up to my Toshiba 36" crt tv. Just wondering what the benifits of passing signals through a amp would be?, as i have never tried this.
    Many thanks
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +469
    at its simplest it minimises leads to the screen (like using a media box) but some amps also offer upscaling of inputs and improve pq particularly from composite outputs.
     
  5. Tony 21

    Tony 21
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...