1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma choice Panasonic TH50PHW5B or Pioneer PDP-503MXE

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nhk, Dec 30, 2002.

1. nhk

nhk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking for some impartial advice on which of these Plasma monitors to consider. I am new to the whole concept.

The retailer (home cinema installer) will do either but recommends the Pioneer even though the Panasonic has better contrast. From what I see in the forums the panasonic gets goos reviews. Question is which is the more reliable of the two.

Pioneer also offers on-site repairs.

The specific question I have is:

1. Is the panasonic technology a more advanced (later) version?
    2. Does the extra resolution of the Panasonic tranlate into a better picture.
    3. The brightness of the Panasonic is less than the Pioneer - does this make it less suitable for a daylight environment.

I guess I cannot go wrong with either but would not like to feel that the retailer is steering me into a product that will be replaced soon.

2. sharon

sharon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi nhk

I went to a lot of effort to compare the Panasonic and Pioneer 50" in the same environment. My thoughts on your questions...

1. Reliability: I think it's too early to say, but there seems to be reported cases of pixel dropout on the Panasonics than the Pioneer.

2. In theory yes the Panasonic uses a more advanced technology. This seems quite evident when comparing the 42" Panasonic and Pioneer, however when it comes to 50" the difference isn't so great, the Panasonic offers better contrast but doesn't seem to offer the same clarity of picture.

3. Yes the Panasonic's greater resolution translates to a better picture when driven by either a PC or composite video, anything else and the Pioneer picture seems better.