1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Placement of Front Speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by DEO, Apr 22, 2003.

1. DEO

DEO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie so please be gentle:

In my room which is 20' by 20' the TV/Plasma will be at the midpoint of one of the walls and the main listening position is approx 14 feet away from the TV.

How far apart should the speakers be?

Alternatively how far away from the edges of the Plasma should they be?

2. alexs2

alexs2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    As a general starting position,if you position the speakers spaced equally to the sides of the screen,at the sides of an equilateral triangle,with the apex where you'll be sitting.
    Then gradually toe the speakers in towards your position,and keep adjusting the positions gradually until you get the best sound for your ears!

Try and keep them away from walls and other reflective surfaces unless specifically recommended for that usage,and also ensure they're adequately screened if you should place them close to the screen itself.

A lot of this is simply trial and error until you arrive at the best solution for your room sonically,and aesthetically....I used to get constant gip from my wife about the Linn Keltiks I had previously,and their gradual movement out into the room when she wasn't looking!

3. DEO

DEO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Alex

These front 3 speakers will be inwalls therefore toeing in is not an option but I will base it on the equilateral triangle. Or perhaps on an isosceles (spelling?) triangle, ie where the both speakers are the same distance to the listening position AND the distance between the speakers is equal to the the distance between plasma and listening position.

Does that sound reasonable too?

Dave

4. Ian J

Ian J