Pj newbie; JVC HD1; Epson TW1000; Mits HC5000

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Tribeless, Apr 20, 2007.

1. Tribeless

Tribeless
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    This post got buried on another thread, so thought I'd give it one of its own.

I'm a projector newbie, I currently own a 50" and a 42" plasma, but want to move to a dedicated theatre room, (currently bedroom), built from scratch.

I live in NZ and until this thread, was tossing up between the Mits. HC5000 and the Epson TW1000. That is now in some doubt.

Reading through the thread I suspect the JVC HD1 is the superior machine, it is certainly priced quite a bit above the Epson and Mits in NZ (and the NZ mark up for these latter two machines, over importing direct from Japan is annoying the hell out of me, and I probably would be importing, warranty issues the only thing holding me back). Sorry I digress. Bullet point questions:

I am building a projector room from ground up, so I've got to buy not only the projector, but everything else, decent home theatre sound system, DVD, Receiver, paint, lots of lovely stuff for the wife, you know how it goes, thus, money is obviously an issue. Given this, the extra I will have to spend on the JVC is going to be coming off the quality of the sound system, etc I can buy. Is the JVC superior enough to make this worth while, or will the difference between the three machines be such that as a newbie, buying my first projector, I might as well go for the Epson or Mits, to get a very good all round package?

I welcome ideas from anyone as I have no experience at all with projectors, other than my research online. My next step will be to arrange to see all three demostrated, although, in NZ this will probably be a feat in itself.