1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pixel plus v Progressive Scan

Discussion in 'TVs' started by cerouax, Aug 30, 2002.

1. cerouax

cerouax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Sorry if it seems like a stupid question to the more clued up, but I'm still a newbie to a lot of this...
    Which is the better option to go for, a Philips Pixel+ or Toshiba's Progressive Scan from the Strata range?
    Does the PS work on all sources, or just the enabled DVD equipment?
    Which provides the best picture?

I know that the DAV550 has progressive scan capabilities, but will it work with PAL or R2 sources combined with the Tosh?

Thanks

2. philipb

philipb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +132
    PS will only work on your DVDs. Pixel plus works on eveything. PS though does not suffer from digital artefacts which are present on PP. PP does work well on DVDs.

You have to decide which is your preference. If you watch a lot of broadcast material and DVDs, go for pixel plus. If you watch predominantly DVDs then go for PS, but in that case I'd go the extra mile and buy a plasma which will be better than any CRT with DVDs.

3. cerouax

cerouax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for the advice philipb, but I understand that viewing of broadcast material (in my case Sky digital) would require turning off PP due to the artefacts... is this the case, or can fine tuning of the other settings improve the situation. Does PP have artefacts on DVD?

If you watch predominantly DVDs then go for PS

Does this mean that PS gives a better picture on DVD?

go the extra mile and buy a plasma

If only...:)

4. rct

rct

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does this mean that PS gives a better picture on DVD?