1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pirates of the Caribbean

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by gilesm, Nov 26, 2003.

  1. gilesm

    gilesm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all - a bit confused here. I ordered it ages ago as R1 from playusa, and it's in the processing stage so should get it soon. It says it's Dolby Digital (5.1) EX THX Certified - great. However just seen that almost the same time (I must have missed it earlier) the R2 is going to be available from the 1st Dec, and it's Dolby Digital and DTS. Is this right? I guess if this is the case the THX one is 'better' than just plain old DTS - but on my setup will there be any difference as I've only got 5.1 - not 7.1. Probably shouldn't get too hung up on this as its a fantastic film anyway :)

    Also has anyone seen a review of this yet?

    Cheers
     
  2. gilesm

    gilesm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    eek sorry Steve.EX must have been writing post at the same time - great minds and all that
     
  3. Sam Darwish

    Sam Darwish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gilesm,

    I notice that you have a Loewe Aconda (how observant am I?). Do you use the component facility and if so how?

    Thanks.
     
  4. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +136
    The Leowe salesman in Harrods assured me that the component connection is not a patch on the rgb.
     
  5. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    Iwas told the same thing by a very good HC store in Birmingham (about my Tosh 36") - but the salesman was talking out of his..... the componant connection is fantastic - never trust a salesman NEVER!!!!!!


    Gary
     
  6. Iain Shields

    Iain Shields
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just got an e-mail from Movietyme stating that the R1 version "has" a DTS track so I would think you have nothing to worry about...

    Regards,
    Iain.
     
  7. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my region 1 version today and it does have the DTS track but no mention of DTS on the actual disc, i think DTS was a last minute decision for region 1.
     
  8. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,761
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +7,140
    It is marked on the rear specs area as DTS 5.1
     

Share This Page

Loading...