PIP-How to use

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by rudy, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    How to watch two sky progs at the same time?

    Hitachi 32pd5200
     
  2. mh123

    mh123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Offshore UK
    Ratings:
    +72
    Two sky boxes (and subscriptions :thumbsdow ) connected to two different distinct inputs on your screen :(
     
  3. pa 28 driver

    pa 28 driver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure but did read somewhere that if you have sky plus you can configure it for pip with two sky showings. Maybe one of the tech boys can help here?
     
  4. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    My japanese girlfriend is complaining loudly that she has had PIP in japan for 15 yrs! She does'nt understand why 2 boxes are needed. oh well
     
  5. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    But i take it you can on 'normal' telly
     
  6. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    AFAIK, you can't get a Sky+ box to output two different channels (or, for that matter, a live channel and a recording) at the same time.

    Not sure on the 5200 but, on the 5300, the PIP only works with the PC input as the 'main' picture and you can then view one of the other inputs in a small window at the bottom right.

    John
     
  7. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    i have the lg and the pip on it give u every conceivable mixture of pip, every connection, diff size screens, position of it half n half etc etc and i would love to have 2 diff sky channels on at once but i believe in theory using 1 sky/+ box it cannot be done! standard sky box only has essentially 1 tuner, and sky plus 2, but its only desighned/capable of outputting 1 channel no matter what output ur using
    shame thou :(
     
  8. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the point of PIP (in this country) if you can only use it terrestrial?

    What about freeview? Must work with that i guess?
     
  9. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    the point of pip is to view different inputs at same time, how u implement this is up to u.
    my panel has ywin tuner so i can do pip using any combination of terrestrial or a terrestrial channel and a sky channel, or xbox dvd pc etc etc etc the list goes on!
    its prob not fully geared toards to "channels" at once more to inputs at once!

    perhaps if we made such a demand for it sky may implement it in the future but im sure well pay a premium for it.
    for tv viewing ul need a panel with twin tuners and capable of displaying the 2 or a freeview box with twin tuner and twin outputs or 2 freeviews/skyboxes
     
  10. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I assumed before buying a PIP TV that i could watch more than one channel at once..

    I take your point, but most people buy a telly to watch telly..so PIP seems a redundant feature for 95% consumers.
     
  11. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345

    which is why plasma tv's rather than panels! have twin tuners, ie u get the full package!
     
  12. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah..
    So basically i have two tuners on my plasma which could be made to work 1 with terrestrial and 1 with sky?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice