1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pios held back !

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by joys_R_us, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the German Hotline the delivery of the HDMI products incl. plasmas cannot start because some details of the HDMI connection are still not cleared by some committee.

    This is in contradiction of the HDMI.ORG webpage but this is what they say. It can well be that these beauties won't be delivered until next year !!
    :mad:
     
  2. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmm seems weird Pioneer were willing to sell them at the manchester show then.. still this is bad news if its true.
     
  3. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Having Also gone to the show on Friday I was pretty pleased with the 504 demo. The guy did not seem to know much about the HDMI compliance with a DVI PC output but at least he admitted that and didn`t bullsh*t.

    I was also happy to hear from the Fujitsu chap that the P50XHS10ES is now dead in the water. A casualty of Fujitsu`s concentration on it`s new 55 inch ALIS panel.

    So I came away from the show happy that I had ordered the 504 a few weeks ago, placing me somewhere near the front of the Q....I hope.

    I could not survive a dispatch delay from Pioneer without going into a very deep depression.
     
  4. ROBERTT

    ROBERTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ive just preordered the PDP 434HDE also. Cant believe it if this is true. Ive just e-mailed Pioneer UK to see if they can shed light on this. Will post back their reply when I receive it.
     
  5. ROBERTT

    ROBERTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just had an e-mail from Pioneer uk.

    Thanks for your email and I can confirm that the PDP-434HDE is due for release during next week and the DV-868 is due November.

    Regards.
    Customer Relations.

    Thank god for that......I was starting to worry :clap:
     
  6. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheers ROBERTT,

    is it just a German thing I wonder ? Anyway thanks for allowing me to sleep easy tonight, unless of course anyone else knows different.

    Lumpsucker
     
  7. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope it wasn't the lady at the switchboard who answered your mail. It is weird that they tell so different stories across Europe.

    I also mailed Pio Germany and HDMI in USA asking for facts..

    I very much hope YOU ARE RIGHT as I wanted to order this baby asap to get it before Christmas ...
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    joys_r_us

    The only 'delay' at this end is getting hold of the R04 Media Box's - the screens are assembled in the UK and as far as I can tell the initial batch are ready to ship as soon as the R04 units arrive from Japan.

    There was talk a few months back that the HDMI equipped DVD players were to be delayed as some issues around HDCP were still to be resolved - this has now been sorted and these players are only a few weeks away.

    I'd imagine any last minute glitches would be to do with the DVD players not the displays - after all the HDMI input on the display is redundant until you have a player to talk to it.

    If your keen we can deliver to Germany :)

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS Or maybe they are sorting those pesky *.JPG viewers out!!!
     
  9. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  10. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joe Fernand

    that the panels are ready to ship and are just waiting for the media boxes makes me even more nervous :eek:

    Actually your statement may be interpreted to confirm problems with HDMI which is on the box...

    The person I talked to at Pioneer said they might have to make changes in the HDMI connection.

    Oh my God :rolleyes:

    Hope you are right, PM me a delivery price to Berlin :)
     
  11. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I received a response from Pioneer on the HDMI cable which is going to be the only connection from my 868 DVD player to the 504HDE R04 media box.

    Quote:
    At present Pioneer are not marketing an HDMI cable at the present time, although we are looking into this. Because of this recent development, there are not many companies producing HDMI cables.
    Please keep an eye on our website for any updates on the HDMI cable situation.


    Great! So unless an HDMI cable is available before the kit arrives that means forking out for additional cables to make a temporary connection...:rolleyes:
     
  12. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just out of interest, if you connect the 868 directly to the 504, how do you then get surround sound?
     
  13. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    You still have to feed the digital ouput from the 868 to the amp.
    In my case I'm going for an AX5i so I'll be using iLINK.
     
  14. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Video via the HDMI, 5.1 via the optical/coaxial digital output as normal...

    Sorry to double up... Does the iLink send 5.1 Dolby/DTS..? I thought it only sent multi-channel audio..?
     
  15. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    hmm okay, strange i thought the whole point of coming up with HDMI as a format instead of just using DVI, was that it incorporated the sound into the one cable?
     
  16. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Well even if it does, the plasma/media box has no way of decoding multi channel sound and it doesn't have connections to all the surround speakers.
    I suppose when amps are fitted with HDMI inputs/outputs you will just have 1 HDMI cable from the DVD player to the amp and another from the amp to the display but it will still be the amp doing the decoding and connecting to the speakers.
     
  17. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    yep, thats what i thought would have to happen Brogan... cheers for clearing that up... probably won't get an HDMI dvd player until i can get an HDMI amp as well.
     
  18. ROBERTT

    ROBERTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Brogan,

    HDMI cables can be found at www.molex.com. Have e-mailed them for stock and pricing info. Will post back when I receive this.
     
  19. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
  20. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Exactly..! Which is a real pain if you go for one of the new HDE's, because HDMI and component are combined on AV3... Anyone currently switching/upconverting through a 3803 (or similar) and wanting to go for one of the new HDMI Pioneer DVD players (like me) will have to manually change the AV3 input setting every time you want to watch a DVD... I agree that when the new bread of a AVR's are released with HDMI switching then this won't be a problem but IMO this really spoils what is otherwise a fantastic proposition...

    [Edit] Actually my ramblings don't directly relate to your question or answer... Sorry, I'm just really ******ed off by this crazy oversight... [Edit]
     
  21. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    What annoys me more than having to press a few buttons on the remote to select the correct input signal is having to get off my fat lazy arse to go to the kitchen and get a beer and some food. So much so that I'm going to move the cooker and fridge into the lounge.
    I'm also getting concerned at the amount of prime slobbing time I'm wasting on pointless tasks like washing and going to the toilet...;)
     
  22. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yeah Brogan you're right it's not the end of the world, but when you're spending £5500 on a TV it's got to do what you want... Maybe Pioneer should look at a fridge/microwave upgrade..!
     
  23. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    LOL :D

    I agree it's not ideal to have to keep changing the source but I can't see any reason not to get an HDMI capable DVD or plasma now just because the amps aren't available.
    At least when the amps are out you'll only have to replace one bit of kit and be ready to go.
     
  24. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    heh, well given that i went the all-in-one route to start with, i'm going to have to replace the amp, dvd player and speakers just to get it right.. thats going to be expensive.. have to wait until i've paid off the 504.
     
  25. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    Hello all

    Brogan - I'm sure that awfully inventive Mr Dyson will be able to adapt his mega bucks automated 'vacuum' to have a 'commode' mode :)

    joys-R-us - the R04 Media Boxes arrive in the UK (and Europe) pretty much ready to go; just mains cables, a few stickers and the like to be sorted out

    The Screens arrive in kit form (I believe it saves on import taxes) and are then assembled in the UK; hence the reason Pioneer UK can say they are ready to ship screens and just awaiting the Media Boxes.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS I've been told to be ready to take our first shipment on Monday or Tuesday next week!!!
     
  26. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx Joe !

    I have got an email from Pio today saying that the plasmas will be delivered in November. (when in November ?)

    They also didn't answer my question if there is any certification issue with HDMI.

    I for sure will wait and see if the first batches will be OK...
     
  27. kaspj

    kaspj
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joe,

    I look forward to your further impressions of the 434 (and the HD 42" panny). Please keep us posted (I trust you to be impartial!).

    p.s. what happened to the website update then?:devil:

    Kind regards,

    JP (saving for a plasma).
     
  28. jkb

    jkb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @ Joys-r-us, Joe

    The Pio is available. A major german electronic market (Media Markt) opened a new market on Thursday 23 in Wiesbaden. I was there in the morning as they had some nice offers. Then I saw the Pio 434. I played a little and compared to the others around (PW6 /Sony MR and Samsung). Its a very nice unit with a great picture. At the cable connection the picture was MUCH better than all the others.

    I already had a closer look to the unit at IFA in Berlin.

    Then I just bought the 434. They matched the price I saw on internet. (They only had one)

    I know have it at home and will set it up over the weekend. Keep you informed.

    Regards
    Jkb
     
  29. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    jkb
    Thats good to hear jkb! Lucky you!! :smashin:
    Im jealous already!!!! :devil:

    Did you compare it to the Panny HD or was it the standard screen?

    Keep us updated!

    Enjoy!! :)

    AV Geeza

    "There can be only one!" :devil:
     
  30. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    May I ask you for the price you paid (if this isn't in violation of the board rules; otherwisw pls PM it to me )

    Thx
     

Share This Page

Loading...