1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer's new PDP range - FIRST INFO!!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Tejstar, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Don't know whether this has been mentioned, but here is the press release from Pioneer Japan.
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    At last, Pioneer have actually realised that you need blacks to get any depth in an image, looking good.
    I hope you can feed native resolution into these screens.
    The design, the single wire to screen is perfect, now if they have got the image right too then I am seriously tempted with the 50".

    £3800 in Japan for the 50" and £3100 for the 43".
    In Japan the 435 and 505 were nearly a grand cheaper than here when released so I hope that isn't still the case this time round.
     
  3. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    目を見はる大画面でリビングを楽しさや驚きに満ちたエンタテインメント空間に変える50V型“ピュアビジョン”。「P.U.R.E. Black Panel」や「P.U.R.E. Drive II 」など、パイオニア独自の革新的な高画質プラズマ技術により、思わず息をのむリアルな映像美を迫力の大画面で再現。さらに画面周辺のフレーム幅を可能な限り細くし、大画面を際立たせたスタイリッシュなデザインは、リビングのインテリアと美しく調和しながらも、ひときわ存在感を放ちます。


    I think that is what we have all been waiting for! ;)
     
  5. jschoorl

    jschoorl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did forecast a knockout pio plasma, looks like were in for a treat ;)
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
  8. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Jimbo73

    Jimbo73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Only one HDMI port but ... very interesting... it's got a Ethernet port... wonder what that's for? Streaming direct from a PC? :clap:
     
  10. Alan A

    Alan A
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't the japanese have 10mb broadband?
     
  11. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it not read 2 hdmi inputs on the xde model.
    cant see a reference to ethernet though,probably will have and so will all new av equipment for future networking.
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
  13. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like a rj11 connection also.

    Not for the Euro market so ours will differ.
     
  14. gettingthefear

    gettingthefear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to ask such an elemental question, but could someone explain the differences between the FDE, XDE and HDE models on the current 435? thanks.
     
  15. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do a search for "difference XDE FDE" on the Forum and all your questions will ne answered.
     
  16. gettingthefear

    gettingthefear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks. sorted, i think. now has anyone heard of any problems of quality control on the XDE? i read a french report that suggested that one XDE may be a belter but the next off the production line could be a lemon. i don't fancy taking three or four tvs back to the shop before eventually getting a good'un.
     
  17. BigGanja

    BigGanja
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +15
    if they only made a 37" as well.... :(

    anyway, looking at the rear panel pic, I've noticed there're no components inputs, weird.
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    There are two component inputs on the rear, they are using the Japanese D-Terminal connector though, same thing different connector.
     
  19. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    FDE has a media box and an analogue tuner.
    XDE has a media box and a digital tuner, and some say a better picture.
    HDE is just a display, but it has the most potential for the best picture.

    Nick
     
  20. Sprout Crumble

    Sprout Crumble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    MXE is display only, not the HDE.
     
  21. AndyH

    AndyH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I agree (having been told I can't have a 42", which naturally excludes a 43" too!)
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Andy, I take it your little size problem is due to 'er indoors, if we may put it like that? You need to get a sheet of cardboard, paint it to look like the plasma of your choice, life size, and blu tack it to the wall. They shrink magically on a wall mount, truly. On the other hand, you can still impress your mates with a 37, and all for £900 at RS I see from further down the board. The Pioneer is one of the more minimalist TV plasmas, having no speakers as standard. Separating the sound from the screen usually looks better and keeps the size down to something reasonable. Small 'designer' speakers, like www.anthonygallo.co.uk and a surround amp is the way to go for this, and much better sounding too.
     
  23. AndyH

    AndyH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi MAW,

    I appreciate your concern! Yes, we've just upgraded house and alas while the overall space is huge, the actual living area is slightly restricted. And worse, the shape / layout doesn't quite lend itself to wall mounting!

    And in her words "37" is bigger than the current 32" set" :)

    So I'll continue to wait for the new range of Panny monitor plasmas - like you suggest, I definately don't want / need screen speakers that will never be used.
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You can comfort her with the thought that the PWD8 37 will most likely be SMALLER than the current 32".
     
  25. lambonl

    lambonl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you guys ever seen a women reverse - no concept of distance!!! Just get the 43" and tell her it's a 37"!
     
  26. AndyH

    AndyH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    *laugh* I like it..
     
  27. yellowpostit

    yellowpostit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone think it's worth forgetting the existing models and waiting for these? It's a concern for me, as I was going to get a 435XDE once I've had some building work done.

    And does anyone have any feeling on the prices in the UK?
     
  28. ikon66

    ikon66
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +7
    depends what you can afford, once the 6 comes out the 5 prices will drop, usually new models have more glitches and takes a time to iron them out, really no right or wrong answer
     
  29. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +41
    The Area DVD description includes ISF calibration as a feature! I wonder if this means it will be included in the purchase price? This might only apply to Germany. Does anybody know anything about this, either for the UK or Germany?
     
  30. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Something for free...... I don't think so!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...