PioneerDVR7000. "Anyone Else Got One"?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mike greenslade, Apr 20, 2002.

  1. mike greenslade

    mike greenslade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Neath
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK Guys! Anyone else got one? If you have you can email me.:cool:
     
  2. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi Mike

    Fellow 7000 owner here.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  3. mike greenslade

    mike greenslade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Neath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello Phil!
    Have you tried copying a R2 DVD to a Blank Dvd yet? I tried yesterday for the first-time, a window kept opening on my tv Screen saying "Unable to Record due to Copy Protection". Yet, I am able to Copy the same Dvd to Video Tape (VCR). I'm wondering whats the Difference? Surely I'm "set-up" Correct?
    ORRRR! anyone else able to 'SHINE' a little light on this matter?
    :confused: Only had the DVR on Thurs. Havent had much time to play with yet.

    Mike...
     
  4. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    It is copy protection, with the DVD Recorder recognising a method of copy protection that the analogue video recorder doesn't. All DVD Recorders will re-act in the same way.

    Not sure of a way around it. Someone else may have some suggestions.

    They are great pieces of kit though.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  5. mike greenslade

    mike greenslade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Neath
    Ratings:
    +1
    I Agree Phil, really happy. Wish they came in BLACK though,to go with the rest of my Gear. Will have more time to play after this week. Really "Cheased Off" because I thought the DVR would record off Dvd Discs, don't do much with Video Camera Side of things. Had mine from avland really pleased as I waited for the Price to Drop below £1000.

    Mike.
     
  6. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    sounds like your DVD player has macrovision disabled but NOT CGMS.
     
  7. mike greenslade

    mike greenslade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Neath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry but what is CGMS? Its definately Macrovision Disabled the Pioneer737.
     
  8. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    It stands for something like "Copy Generation Management System" or something similar!

    A signal is embedded in one of the scan lines in the picture. It can be set to allow you to not copy, or make one copy only, with that copy being set not to allow you to make anymore.

    Not sure it can be disabled easily, but someone else should have some information hopefully for you.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  9. hjls

    hjls
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. mike greenslade

    mike greenslade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Neath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys, just an update to my Topic. Found some really handy info. from the guys at www.dvdplusrw.org which i'm sure you'd like to read and comment yourselves as it concerns all who wishes to record dvd on our dvd recorders. Follow........
    www.dvdplusrw.org
    >DVDplusRW.org Forum
    >DVD+RW VIDEO RECORDERS
    >Copying DVD using Prospec.........."Retret" starts.........
    Let me know how you get off and what you think.
     

Share This Page

Loading...