1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer520H Vs Toshiba32x

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gazza30, Sep 17, 2004.

1. gazza30

gazza30

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought I had pretty much made up my mind to go for the Tosh32 based on the good reviews I had been reading here. However, I'm now wondering whether to go for the Pioneer after all as nobody seems to have the Tosh in stock and there have recently been one or two dodgy reviews about it, eg. poor sound, unrecognised discs, more features than you really need making it too complex (I'm not very technically minded, as you have probably gathered). I have read through all of the reviews on this forum and although there is heaps of good stuff on the Toshiba, there doesn't seem to be much on the Pioneer. Has anyone had experience of using both machines. Could somebody briefly list the pros and cons of each - what does the Toshiba do that the Pioneer doesn't, and vice-versa. The most important things to me are good quality sound/video on recording and playback and basic editing, eg. deleting unwanted camcorder segments. Many thanks.

2. eddyad

eddyad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Have a look at these threads:

http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?.../forums/showthread.php?t=147428&highlight=420

http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?...forums/showthread.php?t=146337&highlight=720h

All the Pioneer x20 series are the same except for HD size and presence of DVI and have a common manual.

The Toshiba manuals (there are 3 for the '32) are available at http://www.kokorolab.com/TOSH/tosh.html

The Pioneer manual is at http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/support_manuals.jsp?category=support/manuals
    Cllick the European Manual Databas link then search for 520

3. markie

markie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11