Pioneer xv-bd212 screech!

Kambo

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a complete newbie and would really appreciate some help with what I think is a major problem with my Pioneer xv-bd212 Blu-Ray Disc Receiver. I've had this for just over a year (typical - warranty is out now!!) and it was working just fine with my sony Bravia TV via a HDMI connection with ARC. However, one day, when switching on it just started to screech (quite loudly). Whatever input I try (FM, HDMI1, HDMI2, external....etc) all I get is a screeching sound out of all the speakers. I strongly suspect that it is a component inside that is fried. My question is - should I bother trying to get it repaired and if so where can I trust in London. Also, is there any way I could open it up and have a shot at trying to find out what's wrong with it, perhaps find the faulty component myself and try and replace it myself.
Apologies for the ramble. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great.

Errr ...Have I not posted in the right section? I'm thinking my piece of kit is toast as no-one seems to have replied or offered any guidance at all. - can anyone help please.

Last edited:
Can anyone in "The No.1 Home Entertainment Community" please help me??

The retailer you purchased the system from is your first port of call – if you used a CC to make the purchase you will want to contact them too if you get no joy from your supplier.

Ignore the Manufacturers warranty - your contract is with the Retailer.

If you decide to go with a repair Pioneer GB have a list of authorised Service Centres – I would use one of those as non-authorised centres can struggle to source parts.

http://www.pioneer.eu/uk/content/support/support/service.html
Joe

Hi Joe - Firstly thank you for replying - I was wondering if anyone could help at all.