Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Pioneer VSX-AX5i-S

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by cwoj, Dec 9, 2003.

Tags:
  1. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can any one talk me out of buying a Pioneer VSX-AX5i-S?
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Nope :p
     
  3. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brogan

    I take it that you have a VSX-AX5i-S? what speakers do you use with them? Any probs? issues? lets downs?
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Yes, I replaced my old Sony with an AX5i a few weeks ago.
    Great amp for the money with some very useful features:

    USB input - for playing back audio from your PC (saves burning all those MP3 to disc and buying an MP3 compatible player)
    Firewire - for digital audio from your DVD player
    MCACC - automatic speaker set up
    Learning remote - I use the amp remote for Sky, plasma, DVD and the amp
    6.1 surround - use an additional pair of surround back speakers
    OSD - for setting up the amp

    It doesn't have DPLIIx but that is a very new format which is not widely used yet.
    It also doesn't do video up conversion from S-Video to component, but not many amps do at this price...

    My speakers are:

    Front: Wharfedale MFM7
    Centre: Mission 77C1
    Surround: Mission M7DS
    Back: Mission 771e
    Sub: Paradigm PS1000

    It looks pretty good too.
     
  5. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As am a newbie can you explain why i might want video up conversion from S-Video to component?
     
  6. stebbo

    stebbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke Hanmpshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    May I also ask a question please.

    The "Firewire link", is that instead of a coax or optical connection to transfer the movie sound from the DVD to the surround Amp or is it DVD-A / SACD only?

    I cant find a definitive answer anyway
     
  7. ailean

    ailean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Incase you just run Component cables to your tv/plasma/projector but have a couple of S-Video inputs to your amp (VCR etc).

    EDIT: Yep the Firewire can carry all audio signals not just hi-res.
     
  8. stebbo

    stebbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke Hanmpshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    excellent
    Thank you
     
  9. dml

    dml
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Can any one talk me out of buying a Pioneer VSX-AX5i-S?"

    Yep. VSX-AX10!:devil::devil::devil:
     
  10. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    dml, lend me the extra £1500.00??
     
  11. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Brogan is correct, it is a very nice piece of kit, though he meant 7.1 as you may have noticed..

    (Brogan can i ask out of interest how difficult is it to program the remote to control everything like that (bearing in mind we have very similar setups, also how long did it take you? Cheers)
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    LOL - I said 6.1 on purpose as all the mag's say there is no such thing as 7.1 due to the rear channel being mono...

    Programming the remote was fairly simple.
    Took me about 20 mins all in but I also re-named all the key labels, etc. so that when I press the "Return" key when in Sky mode is displays "Backup" on the screen...which is nice...:D
    The memory is not huge though - I have all the Sky keys programmed, some of the 868 keys and some of the plasma keys (menu, etc.) and it's full :(
    I was considering getting a Pronto (I think that's what it's called) but this does pretty much everything I need.
     
  13. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arsenal
    Your set up is more or less what i am looking for other than i think i will be going for the KEF KHT 9000 ACE speakers. Is it worth the investment?
     
  14. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah okay, sorry about that Brogan.. i must admit i find it strange that the progression from 6.1 to 7.1 would be an extra rear centre channel anyway, surely and extra front center should come first?

    Sounds promising re the remote, although annoying that it can't hold everything, i may still consider one of those ProntoPro NG's when they become available, so i can use it for my Nad stereo as well as everything else.. though i can imagine weening my girlfriend off the sky remote would be harder than drawing blood from a stone.
     
  15. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    cwoj

    Well I've only had my 434, AX5i and kef's (still waiting for the 868) since Saturday, but so far i'm very pleased with it.. still yet to try a ps2 game on it, but even watching Two Towers on it via the ps2 was an excellent experience.. As to whether its worth the investment to you i don't know.. but right now, I have no regrets! :)

    BTW, those 9000 speakers do look good, though not high enough for my liking unless wall mounted, i needed small and on stands which is why i went with the eggs.
     
  16. dml

    dml
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heard the KEF KHT 9000 ACE speakers in the KEF demo room at the Home Entertainment show in Manchester. Can't remember what they were driving them with though.

    Sounded good. Looked even better. Very high on the WAF scale.:smashin: I don't think you'll be dissapointed.
     
  17. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has the Ax5i got Audio delay functions for lip synch issues ?( not required for i link of course)
    Rob.
     
  18. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Yes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice