1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer VSX-811 & DV656A - SACD config Problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by BeadleMachine, Jun 16, 2003.

Tags:
  1. BeadleMachine

    BeadleMachine
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there everyone - need some help with setting up my amp for SACD's with Pioneer DV656A and Pioneer VSX811 receiver:

    - Bought some audio cables and connected the 5.1 outputs on the DV656 to the 7.1 channel input sockets on the AMP.
    - ran the setup wizard on DV656 and told it everything was connected etc...
    - played a DVDA disc,
    - switched to DVD 7.1 input mode on the VSX8-11 using the "signal select" button on the remote. Display read "Analog" under input.
    - everything sounded good - channels from all speakers etc...

    Then tried a SACD disc.

    -with the amp on exactly the same setting all I got was 2 speakers with sound Front Left and Front Right ??? :(
    - when I selected "auto signal detect" on the amp it selected "analog" but switched itself to "Dolby PRo-logic" mode and didn't sound like multi channel output to me.
    - Was getting sound out of the fronts and simulated rear sounds because of the pro logic mode.

    really confused by this and need some help from anyway who has similar / same setup. I must have the thing wired up correctly otherwise the DVDA disc would surely display the same problem. :confused:

    any help would be greatly appreciate as I spent most of sunday trying to get this to work :mad:
     
  2. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Two questions ... have you set your 656sa to play the multi-channel track, and has the SACD you're playing actually got a multi-channel track?

    Vikki
     
  3. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    P59 of the manual - default for SACD is 2 channel
    P60 Audio Output needs to be set to 5.1 - default is 2 channel

    HTH
     
  4. BeadleMachine

    BeadleMachine
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey Vikki,

    thanks for the tips.

    I'm pretty sure I tried the multi-channel setting on the 656a, perhaps it is the disc ? :(

    Its the the TOP GUN soundtrack - will look tonight and try again.

    cheers,

    Beadle Machine
     
  5. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    I think the Top Gun soundtrack is only stereo ... not got it but seam to remember it in the shop being only 2 channel

    Vikki
     
  6. paiger

    paiger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would expect this to be a 2 channel SACD as many are. Get DSOTM for the ultimate SACD experience.
     

Share This Page

Loading...