1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer VSX-1014TX considered high current?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ZIGW, Dec 28, 2004.

Tags:
  1. ZIGW

ZIGW

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I'm a newbie to the forum and to DVD based surround sound. I just ordered a VSX-1014TX-K based on the recommendations here, but I am concerned about it being able to drive my main speakers (Paradigm 11se MkII). They are rated nominal 6 Ohms, min 4 Ohms although I have heard they dip to about 3.2 Ohms in the upper bass. My previous receiver was a Yamaha RX-V1050, (which shows how behind I am with the times, as this AVR was Dolby Pro Logic only). The Yammy had no problems driving these speakers to decent levels but will the PIO be able to without a lot of distortion or shutting down? The Yammy is rated at 110W RMS into 8 Ohms, 20-20KHz/135W into 6 Ohms on the front and center channels, and weighs ~41 lbs. I don't see a power rating for 6 Ohms in the 1014 manual and although there is a setting for 6 Ohms, it does say that 8 Ohm speakers are recommended. Anyone out there driving ~6 Ohm speakers with the 1014? Should I cancel the order and get a "high-current" brand like HK? I like my Paradigms.

Thanks in advance.

2. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:

I haven't heard the Pioneer 1014, but looking at their website, they quote 150W DIN into 6 ohms. Click here

I personally think you could do with a more heavyweight amp, or you could just buy a power-amp as an add-on?

3. ZIGW

ZIGW

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tejstar,