1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer VSA-AX10 upgrade

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by gmt steve, Mar 4, 2004.

Tags:
  1. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Has anyone had their VSA-AX10 upgraded by Pioneer to i-Link status?
    I'm thinking of getting it done and wondered if they do anything else besides fit iLink.
     
  2. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    i dont think it would be worth it unless you need i-link as i believe it costs £500.and i dont think you get anything else with it,but i could be wrong,
     
  3. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    did the original ax10 have audio delay, i think they add that
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    They include the following
    channel level is a changed feature
    speaker distancs is a change feature
    switching I link.analog/digital is a change feature

    Playback of up to 192kHz, 24 bit sound formats is a new feature

    listening with sound delay is a new feature

    HI-Bit/HI-sampling is a new feature


    the rest is l-link related
     
  5. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    told you i could be wrong!:blush:
    oooh look my ton has come up!:D
     
  6. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    only realy worth it then if u plan to listen to sacd and dvd-a

    the difference for DD and DTS dvds is limited

    but the audio delay is a god send if you dont have it.
     
  7. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    just thought i would ask here, does the ax10 come with dd ex decoding?the pioneer website shows the ax10i as only having it so maybe this could be another feature they upgrade
    fred
     
  8. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    For all changes and differences between ax10, ax10i and ax10-upgraded download their respect. manuals from the Pioneer site.

    The manual of the upgraded ax10 shows what is changed/new through sideline notes, and you can compare it with the one of the ax10(i) if necessary. (use find (ctrl-F) to see which versions have DD EX)
     
  9. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    YES

    DD EX and DTS ES are prsent on the AX10 and AX10i.

    there was no changes or additions on the surround formats
     
  10. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you sure?picture and spec on pioneer shows it does not...no label on front...so i guess it is not. i was considering swapping an ax10 plus cash for mine but i can't do without dd ex
    fred
     
  11. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    the AX10, has it in its THX mode as THX surround EX
     
  12. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Wow, thanks for all the replys fellas. Yes it does cost £500 if you have Pioneer pick it up and return it, £419 if you arrange that yourself (great if you live near them). I really could use global audio delay, I have a plasma and an iScan. I'm going to have to scrape together the £500 somehow. I think I can see my Laserdisc player and discs going on the classifieds.:devil:
     
  13. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    gandley thx ex is different to dd ex-thx ex uses the old pro logic to extrapolate the centre rears, dd ex uses dolby pro logic 11
    fred
     
  14. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just recently bought an AX5i and can also add that IMHO the hi-bit audio scaler is worthwhile having - it definitely adds a sense of 'air' and 3-dimensionality (?) to CD replay.

    Funny really, as I started out as a hairshirt stereo type and now I'm advocating extra processing...:rolleyes:
     
  15. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and just noticed you've got an 868, you really must get the upgrade for i-link if nothing else.
     
  16. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not necessarily Fred, on THX Cinema set up on my AX5i I can specify whether it uses DPL, DPLII or Neo:6 to obtain the centre rear signal with the default setting being DPLII.
     
  17. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Not sure then fred, as using stereo for the rears is better.

    but without the original AX10 to play with i cant tell you for sure if the modes can be changed like deckards AX5 can
     
  18. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +345
    Deckard - is that was the THX Cinema setup part in the menu is for then ? I thought it was to select which mode to use for THX Cinema when decoding a stereo source - ie from TV. So this is to choose which decoding method is used when you are watching TV/Cable in the THX Cinema mode ? Well this seems to be the case on my 2011 anyway - or have I got it wrong ?

    Mark
     
  19. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have since forgotten but can you turn the equalisation off on thx?personally if you couldn't then dd ex is definately worth having, and possibly something pioneer might be willing to do for not much extra, as there are some films, the matrix reloaded one of them, that certainly do not need thx processing.
    in this case and you can't turn off re-equalisation then dd ex is essential imo
    fred
     
  20. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    on a non upgraded AX10 re equalization can be toggled on off
    only in musicmode for home THX mode it is always on
     
  21. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's correct gandley, and as you know (but I'm sure others don't and this is a forum after all) this is the feature that you loose if you upgrade the AX10 to iLink status. After going through the downloaded manual, the differences are:

    iLink and it's various settings
    Custom memorys for MCACC
    Global delay for lip sync
    Hibit upsampling
    Extra settings for back rear speaker distance
    Loss of THX Re-Eq for non THX modes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...