1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer Plasma PDP-505-XDE

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MusicForLife, Apr 26, 2005.

1. MusicForLife

MusicForLife

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya:
    Hi All,
    This is my first thread so apologies if this thread has been posted before.

I have been quoted £4,199.95 for the Pioneer Plasma 50" model : PDP-505-XDE
    I am totally new to this type of equipment, moving up from Loewe Aconda 32" and am wondering whether this type of install is best left to the Professionals but on the otherhand I can find this Plasma for £3,729 on the Net !
    What would you guys do ?

1. Is this as good a plasma as people say ?
    2. Is there a better alternative and at what cost ?
    3. What audio system would you recommend for a budget of £4,000 on top of the TV ?

My local shop recommend the Tag Mclaren speakers they are offering for a massive reduction - is this worth going for to complement the Plasma ? or is there a better value speaker system worth buying .
    I would prefer speakers on the wall as I have children ! (best kept out of the way (the speakers I mean !)

Thanks for any advice on this subject .

Pete

2. Niraj

Niraj

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Music,

Welcome to the AV Forums.

The price that you have been quoted sounds pretty competetive. Does it include the speakers ans the table top stand? What kind of a warranty are you getting with the plasma? Where are you getting it from?

The reason I ask is that if you have got this quote from a proper shop(not web based) then you might consider asking John Lewis to price match as they offer a free 5 year warranty on all televisions that they sell.

Also, the cheaper price that you have seen online will most definitely not include the table top stand and speakers.