Pioneer PDP-LX5090 - Completely dead

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by kevhaywire, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. kevhaywire

    kevhaywire
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thought I'd start a new thread as other folks with dead panels are getting blink codes, but I get absolutely nothing on mine.

    Build date - Feb 2009

    Purchased s/hand this time last year, moved it successfully from the previous owner's house to mine, wrapped in a duvet and it powered up fine and has until now been perfect.

    Moved house on Saturday, same moving process in the same softly sprung BMW estate, but this time it won't power up.

    When I insert the power lead, I can see a red LED on the back panel through the cooling vents, but there is no relay clicking and no standby light on the front panel.

    There isn't anything in the manual about this fault, other than some tosh about static electricity etc etc "remove plug and wait for a minute or two and try again". Doesn't help.

    I have a hunch it could be the power supply (PSU) due to the absence of relay noises, but nowhere seems to stock one, or even the service repair kit.

    Is it game over for my set then?

    If it is, what even comes remotely close to this panel's performance?

    Gutted and p1ssed off in equal measure as it's the only TV I've wanted to keep for as long as possible :mad:

    Ironically, the 42" Toshiba panel for the bedroom which I don't care about and threw into the back of the truck with the other stuff survived the trip no problem.
     
  2. mtunreal69

    mtunreal69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
  3. vidjo

    vidjo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Is this one of their TV's with a mains on/off switch hidden under the left hand side (looking from the front) as in lifting it you may have switched it off.
     
  4. stucarblne

    stucarblne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Fife, United Kingdom.
    Ratings:
    +433
    Good point, might not be that but it must be frightening how many times Pioneer have received calls regarding that
     
  5. kevhaywire

    kevhaywire
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    My old 42" 720p Kuro had that power switch, but it would seem strange [of Pioneer] to fit that to the 5090 because some people (myself included) have the optional speakers, but I'll take the speakers off tonight and check anyway!

    I really do hope it is something as simple as that, but I've never noticed a switch there before.

    Cheers!
     
  6. kevhaywire

    kevhaywire
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Vidjo, you were right :smashin:

    Page 13 of the manual - Pioneer user manual

    I guess I didn't see the switch because the speakers are obscuring it?

    Anyway, looks like I've been a numpty :facepalm:

    Thanks guys. You've saved me from wasting a few grand on a TV I didn't want to buy!
     
  7. mtunreal69

    mtunreal69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    Ha, classic. Good spot guys.
     
  8. white91

    white91
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +50
    Easily done
     
  9. stucarblne

    stucarblne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Fife, United Kingdom.
    Ratings:
    +433
    All is well then, great to hear you have your ace tv back, good news !!! :D
     
  10. Inferno

    Inferno
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bedlam, Warrington, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,095
    That power switch is ace, i deliberately switched it off once so my sister had go upstairs and watch the lcd that was in the bedroom, she said it was broken and she hadn't touched it :laugh:.
     
  11. kevhaywire

    kevhaywire
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can't wait to get home from work tonight and find the little switch and bring my baby back to life :)

    The missus will be chuffed to bits as she didn't particularly relish the idea of me buying a new TV either. She doesn't exactly the get the whole PQ and deep blacks thing anyway, so what a relief :clap:
     
  12. ozzzy189

    ozzzy189
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,735
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    Lol, great outcome! Made me grin.
     
  13. HD Elvis

    HD Elvis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +87
    Made me chuckle, easy done though
     
  14. kevhaywire

    kevhaywire
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah it was turned off at the switch :facepalm::laugh:

    I'd already planned to get the Panasonic VT60 as a replacement (any excuse eh? :D ), but I'm glad I no longer have to find £4K from somewhere!

    Before I moved house I was considering doing some Stucarblne tweaking to fix my 5090's (admittedly very mild) red tinting, but in all honesty, using a desk lamp shining at the wall behind it has pretty much removed all of the perceived redness, so a double result :clap:
     
  15. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +554
    Not the first time a thread like this had been started. :)
     
  16. vidjo

    vidjo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Pleased to have saved you a lot of money. I looked at some Panasonic's recently and didn't think there was enough (if any) difference to make me want to spend any money.
     

Share This Page

Loading...