1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer PDP-506XDE - how much better than 505?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Hubert, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Hubert

    Hubert
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    has anyone seen the 506 first-hand? How much better is it than the 505?
    I'm particularly interested in how much better the blacks are, which according
    to the marketing blurb is the biggest improvement.

    I have a 505 which is only 1 month old - I'm generally very happy with it,
    but I do occasionally notice that the blacks could be better on some scenes.

    Would anyone be interested in buying my 505?? I'm located in Manchester
    and would be happy to demo... This all depends on how much the 506 costs
    (I've not received a quote yet) and how much better the 506 really is!

    I look forward to hearing from anyone who's actually seen the 436/506...
     
  2. Hubert

    Hubert
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Posted this at the beginning of the month when I guess noone in the UK had a
    506 yet - any takers now? How much better is the 506 really? Any difference
    in the Freeview picture?

    I mostly watch DVD from HDMI and hi-def tvrips using 720p output from my
    Xbox and the picture is very good, the only thing I'm not totally happy with
    on my 505 are the blacks in some very dark scenes... It seems like when
    small sections are black, those blacks are darker (almost the same as the
    frame) than in scenes where most of the screen is black.

    Would ISF calibration improve blacks on the 505? What settings are actually
    changed when this is done, is it the menu where the intensity of each colour
    can be set?
     
  3. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just went from the 435 to the 436 and I can tell you that the difference is HUGE!!
    Blacks and the overall depth of the picture is stunning!
    Consider a change? DO IT
     
  4. Ruby

    Ruby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +70
    Blade10,

    How are you finding the blacks during dark scenes in dark viewing conditions? Also, have you noticed any judder during panning shots?
     
  5. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The blacks are very good, I was very unhappy with the 435 but the picture of the 436 is very different. Blacks are crt blacks, but of course in compare to the extreme black frame it's not That black but still it's very very nice. I'm happy with the 436, i can't see how plasma can get any better. Extreme detail and deapth, but judge for yourselfs. The judder is only there if your rate is set wrongly. EX: freeview must be seen at 100hz and not at 75, or else there will be judder. I strongly recommend the new 436! EISA Awards are pretty serious :eek:)
     
  6. phcahill

    phcahill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    What are the rules for setting 100Hz or 75Hz?
     
  7. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pal is 50hz so if you force the display to run at 75hz it will produce judder.
    However if you set it at 100hz you will get a calm display with no judder. Try it out..
    Works for me...
     
  8. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    It would be very usefull if there is a member of this forum who has the new 6 series and could give a more constructive comparison ,to give guidance on wether the switch from say a 505 to a 506 is realy worth the money
     
  9. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well....There is no doubt. The picture speak for it selves. For those who deny the radical different in picture quality between the 435 and the 436 - I can only say, selv betrayel. The improvement is massive. Black on the 435 was a joke. Got mine two days ago and finally black is black and the colors are just as well vived and more natural.
    Red this: http://www.areadvd.de/news/2005/IFA_2005/pioneer_preview_night_1.shtml
    There is also a compare between the 435 and the new 436.
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +614
    There are a few people who sodl their 5G Pios because they didn't like the picture that now have the 6G screens and are more than happy.

    I would say get what you can for you screen and move on.
     
  11. Ruby

    Ruby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +70
    gizlaroc,

    So as a home cinema enthusiast, if you had to choose between the Pioneer 506XDE or Panasonic 50PV500, which one would you go for?
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +614
    I wouldn't have the PV500 at all. Don't really like it and can't see the point, I get the PE50 but why spend £3500 on the PV500, it is no where near the quality of a 50PHD7 and scaler.
     
  13. phcahill

    phcahill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks. I thought that x 2 better than 1.5.
    So when should you set 75Hz drive.

    very happy with my 506 however 1st plasma so no comparison.
    I do see judder occasionally. An example would be when the new BBC weather maps move around.

    I am not happy about the hdmi port not allowing 1:1 pixels when using a PC. I've have to switch to analogue via dsub.
     
  14. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +614
    Have you tried 1280x768@50Hz?

    If not will you and let us know how you get on?

    The specs say it can't be done, but I don't beleive that.
     
  15. phcahill

    phcahill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Fine over dsub but not handled over hdmi. Looked bad as in This is not right.
    I tried 50, 60, 75hz.

    I did not go into the advanced settings "Front porch" etc. Nvidia 6600GT.
    There may be a timing setting that sorts this but how would pal/ntsc look at an odd rate.

    At 1280x720 movies look OK but the desktop and text in games do do not.

    Standard answer from Pio. The hdmi port is for consumer video devices and not PC's.

    It is acceptable over vga.

    I was wondering what each of the two sockets on the screen are. One looks like a DVI socket. Can you cable direct and miss out the media box.
     
  16. Dog with 3 legs

    Dog with 3 legs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Going back to your original point, only you can make the decision however going from the 505 to the 506 is probably going to cost you dearly.

    We had an accident with our 504 which we were delighted with. We were supplied with a 505 which was pants compared to what we had been used to. Thumbs up to Direct Line who have bent over backwards to get this sorted.

    They got us a 506 which was still not up to the 504 when it was fresh out of the box but they got a Pioneer authorised service man to come out and spend over half a day setting the 506 up and we are now delighted.

    I guess we have been lucky as all this has cost us is our excess on the policy but a hell of a lot of messing around, time off work waiting for deliveries, service men etc.

    Had we not had a 504 as a point of reference, the 505 would have appeared fine. On that basis stay with what you've got and spend the money on something that will give you more pleasure. In a couple of months time you'll just be watching your 505 and enjoying it.

    If it really bugs you, swap to a 506 now and you'll probably forget about the money in a few months.

    It's human nature to think "have I done the right thing" when you've spent a big pile of cash but my advice is just enjoy it.
     
  17. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    Those idiots (sorry). How about external scalers!?

    I've read that one of the DragonFly demos was done by bypassing the media receiver and plugging the DragonFly directly into the panel. Don't know about the details, though. I'd say: Just give it a try... I believe the DragonFly went in with native resolution at 72Hz.
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +614
    Cheers for that, so going in at 50hz native resolution is fine?

    Yeah you can miss out the media box and go in direct dvi, if you search on here and the www.pixelmagicsystems.com forum you will find threads regarding this.
     
  19. phcahill

    phcahill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    50hz appears fine to me but then this is my 1st plasma.
    It looks like the pixels are mapping OK. I turned off XP font smoothing and I couldn't see any mismatches on text.

    Maybe a PC via DVI through a DVi switch box (is there such a thing) may work. Then the PC and Media box can share the screen.


    I'm curious to know what settings changes the engineer made to DogWith3Legs TV to improve the picture. I'm running mine a bit low at the moment till run in.
     
  20. Dog with 3 legs

    Dog with 3 legs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I could help here. I had to leave him alone for a couple of hours as I had a problem at work that needed attending to.

    For what it's worth I know he went into the service menu.

    I still can't understand why it shouldn't be right as it comes out of the box with just a few changes for personal preferances.

    I've certainly read elsewhere of the 6 series units having a "gauze" effect which mine certainly did.
     
  21. -Hitman-

    -Hitman-
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sector7
    Ratings:
    +827
    Interesting?

    I have done a search and cannot find anything on using the panel's DVI connection without the media box connected, only found a quote from PIO on the Pixel magic forum, who said that it cannot be done.

    Maybe you know where this info is and can help here with a few links!

    Thanks.
     
  22. deltatango301

    deltatango301
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0

    Why are people obsessed with blacks how do you know how black

    the film makers wanted you to see them I dont seat there and say boy
    that was Black look at those black shoes etc etc I am old but boy get a life

    Wait for s**t to hit fan :oops:

    Terry
     
  23. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +614
    Because you can only get proper depth and a 3D looking image if the black levels are there, simple as that!

    Dr HTPC,
    I will dig out the thread tonight, it may have been on avs, I will post a link later though. I didn't pay it much attention, someone said they had done it though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...