1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PIONEER PDP-435 XDE PLASMA AND PC's

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rio_cs, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. rio_cs

    rio_cs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I am thinking of buying a PDP-435, or PDP-436, and I want to use it with my PC for browsing and some gaming. Anybody had any experience or does anyone know of any potential problems. Thanks
     
  2. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,098
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    I've tried a few laptops and everything seems to be ok
     
  3. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Does anyone know if screen retention is a big issue with using your plasma as a monitor (ie Windows Taskbar/logo's etc)?
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    it can be difficult if you plan to use a digital connection (i.e. DVI to HDMI) as the HDMI port is designed for video, so there is naturally quite a lot of overscan - usually enough to half lose or completely lose the taskbar. VGA should be fine :)
     
  5. rio_cs

    rio_cs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    mmm thanks m8. That may be a problem coz I think the 436 only has a front VGA connector on the media box and I dont want a VGA cabling dangling out the front.
     
  6. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I hooked up my PC via front HD15 within a week of getting my 435xde last year, results were impressive, but it was removed within 3 days due to image retention of the explorer top nav bar, which subsequently cleared after a few hours normal use

    my feeling was it wasn't worth the risk
     

Share This Page

Loading...