1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pioneer PDP-434HDE Manual?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kevshed, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    guys, anyone have a copy of the manual for on of these panels? Been looking around, but no luck so far.

    Was on the verge of ordering one, but from what i can tell you can only use it with the tuner box... is that right? No terminal board?

    Just don't want anoither box.... all my switching is done on my AV8, so just want to feed component direct.... ho hum

    no local dealers unfortunatly.. hence the question.

    Thx
    Kev
     
  2. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    6,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,228
  3. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    many thanks... not sure how i missed that :)
     
  4. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    ok,

    looks like im going to have to use the tuner box.. damn it. Seeing as the great designer of this thing has put the VGA input under the front panel of the media box, anyone tried to wire a scart to take the PC input..... otherwise this is going to be a very untidy installation...

    Great... best panel - worst connectivity (in my case anyway) :(

    thoughts appreciated...
    Kev
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    You're correct in that this is the best plasma screen currently on the planet :) (IMO - I have the 50" version).

    Remember the tuner box does not need to be on display as the screen has the IR receiver on it. This does give the option of quite flexible installation with all the benefits of a mass of connections with just one (double) cable running to the screen.
     
  6. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +282
    Kev,

    If you can wait a few months, the 434MXE and 504MXE models should be available with better connectivity.

    Steve
     
  7. Johndl

    Johndl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S Devon
    Ratings:
    +8
    Steve,

    Any more details or a link. On the verge of taking the plasma plunge and love to know what's being upgraded. Is this hdmi v2?

    Thanks, John
     
  8. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +282
    Hi John,

    Sorry, I don't have any further details on connections, but I would expect it to feature DVI-HDCP or HDMI in place of the standard DVI input.

    Steve
     
  9. Johndl

    Johndl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S Devon
    Ratings:
    +8
    thanks Steve
     
  10. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    thanks guys.... but if i wait any longer, i wont upgrade, then the mrs will have me buying useless things like holidays and conservatorys... upgrade ahoy !

    Thanks for the posts.. good mention on the IR front.. that makes a bit of difference. cheers.
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,593
    Kevshed

    Just a quick note re the SCART inputs on the Media Box - these are for Video signals only not PC signals - as you've guessed you have to use the R04's front panel HD15 input for the PC.

    You may also want to budget for a Lumagen or similar to optimise your Digibox signal and I'd also budget to have your screen calibrated to get the best out of your FMJ kit.

    Johndl

    Dont expect to see HDMI V1 or V2 on the new 04 MXE's - as they are industrial products they are far more likely to have DVI (with HDCP).

    Also dont expect the 04 MXE's to look like the 04 HDE's - they will look pretty similar to the 03 MXE's.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  12. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    thx... the PC input is a real pain.... somebody somewhere didnt think about that.... mind you, if the tuner box is out of sight, i guess it doesnt matter.

    Agree, i will be getting a processor anyway.. i like the look of the iScan HD :)
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,593
    kevshed

    You'll be surprised to know that in fact the HD15 hidden behind the front panel on the R04 is looked on as a good 'feature' of the HDE's.

    As these are primarily TV's the manufacturer expects that most users will only have a requirement for 'occasional' use of a PC :)

    iScan HD looks pretty good - though not had our confirmed buy/sell pricing through as yet; and I'm sure there are a few more £1k processors due for release in the next month or two.

    Joe
     
  14. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +75
    thanks Joe.. i wish the industry would sit still for 5 minutes ! i Your right..i am suprised, although given the target audience, you point is probably right....... unfortunatly, my PC is permanently connected.....

    Its not going to be a show stopper though.


    I thought the computer industry was bad - but the lifecycles on these things seem ridiculously short.... what a pain.

    Ho hum.. such is life :)

    Cheers,
    Kev
     

Share This Page

Loading...