1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer PDP-4345 USA Supplied

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by voicey, Mar 5, 2005.

1. voicey

voicey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi to all - I'm new to this Plamsa game so please be patient with me!

I have to opportunity to purchase a Pioneer PDP-4345 at a considerable discount. The TV (and AV box) will be supplied from the USA but I will have to pick it up from Germany. I have a friend in the forces (you wouldn't believe how much stuff they can get cheaply).

I have two questions that I hope someone will be able to help me out with:

1. Can anyone think of any problems with using this TV in the UK? I have seen a model working in Germany plugged into the mains via a plug adaptor so voltage is not an issue. I also realise that the tuner may not work but I have a freeview tuner in any case.

2. I will have to drive to collect this. Can I transport the TV (in it's packaging of course) flat in the boot of my car? I'm not sure if screens should be transported vertically.

Thanking you in advance for your responses. :thumbsup:

2. RobbieTT

RobbieTT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Kit bought from (presumably) the BX or PX through Germany will work fine, but the tuner in a plasma TV will not. The internal software can be different and it will not have a scart socket, if that is important to you.

Like many in the Forces I do buy lots of stuff from US bases. But very few of us would take such a gamble with a major purchase like that. A set of Bose speakers for a bedroom perhaps, but not a plasma...

3. Likvid

Likvid
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Never, Never transport a plasma flat!!

Otherwise you will have the glas all cracked.

4. RobbieTT

RobbieTT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7