Pioneer PDP 433MXE - faulty plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by jester_2050, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. jester_2050

    jester_2050
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: Help!!

    Bought my 433MXE in May 2003, has been great, but, the other evening it went "POP" and will now not turn on.

    When you turn it on it instantly goes into standby.

    Checked the power cable.

    Phoned a local TV engineer and he said (without looking at it) that it would be beyond economical repair :(

    Can anyone recommend a repair company?

    Any helpful suggestions would be much appreciated.
     
  2. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +481
    I would definately get a second opinion. Cant see how he can say that.:eek:
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    It's almost certainly the PSU on this plasma. And whilst it was ahead of it's time, it is now distinctly 'old hat', that's why the man said what he said. It could cost £400 to get such a repair done, and the plasma is about 5 yrs old? You can buy a new HD ready plasma for under £800 (a quality one), the new Pioneer is only £1500 now. Is it worth repairing a dated product, is the question to ask yourself. Stick it on ebay, spares or repair, there's one born every minute. You'd get £200 plus for it probably.
     
  4. jester_2050

    jester_2050
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for you help.

    The Insurance company is offering PDP4280xd as a replacement.

    This TV is 1" smaller than mine and does not have DVI input available.

    The appointed company is Empire, and the chap did agree that the size is one argument to go back to the loss adjusters with.

    Can you suggest a suitable replacement (with reasons that I can give the insurance company).

    Would like the LX508d, but not sure they are going to buy that!!

    Thanks again.
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Do you have a PC or processor connected then? If so, you would be better off either with the MXE20 Pioneer or the Panasonic TH42PH10 and a DVI board. But the XD is more expensive, has a PC input mode on HDMI, would do you quite nicely probably.
     
  6. TobyM5

    TobyM5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2

    I had the same problem with mine and ended up with a quote for £350 + VAT. Didn't seem worth it so i had a hunt about and good old EBay turned up a seller 'fixmyplasma' who sold me a board for £120 + £20 postage.

    The item came within a day and was fitted and working after a half hour of being delivered. Its a simple job to do yourself with no setting up required. Simply remove the back then the four screws that hold the PSU board and swap the plugs over.
     
  7. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Thanks, good to know for when mine goes pop! Can't be long now...:eek:

    Steve
     
  8. TobyM5

    TobyM5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I noticed that Pioneer had upgraded a couple of the resistors on the board so theoretically it shouldn't happen again! Here's hopeing.

    The board I was supplied was brand new, can't grumble at the price its a big lump!
     
  9. jester_2050

    jester_2050
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ordered my part from "fixmyplasma" received and fitted today.

    Fixed the problem :smashin:

    Thanks for the help peeps.

    Very happy now :clap:
     
  10. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...