1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer NSDV99 v Panasonic SCHT900

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Moleboy, Aug 30, 2004.

1. Moleboy

Moleboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the world of home cinema but i've found £350 - 400 lying around the house and am pretty intent on spending it on an all in one system, but which one?

i'm debating between the Pioneer NSDV99 from Richer Sounds at £299 and the Panasonic SCHT900 at Comet for £350, but can't really decide which is better, plus the stores in my area don't do demos. what would ppl recommend out of those two, or do u think it would be worth the extra money for the Panasonic scht870?

hope someone can help!

thanx :)

2. seafoodmix

seafoodmix
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have had a dv99 for six months and it is great.

as for buying in richer sounds or comet.

i originally bought a jvc system from richers but it had a noisey fan so i took it back after two weeks and got my money back (including all the leads)

on the flip side

i bought my dad a vcr from comet and he couldnt see the display cause it was lcd rather than led (strange jvc). so the next day it went back, the manager of comet refused the refund or a swap and promptly pointed to a sign saying no returns unless faulty, he eventually charged us £10 because he couldnt resell it as new.

so nut the pioneer from richer and be safe in mind, and definately avoid comet.

3. jaymac

jaymac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +138
    The 99 is great apart from the speaker grill fault which you can read about in other threads. The adjustments available are excellent and you should be able to tailor it to suit your listening style. It also plays Sacd as well as DVD-audio.

4. Moleboy

Moleboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: