1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer NS-DV990 .v. Sony DA-SC8 .v. Sony DAV-S888

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Chris4475, Feb 17, 2004.

1. Chris4475

Chris4475

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All,

I'm fairly new to this home cinema mallarkey, and after hours of surfing for information, reading mags and looking on forums I am struggling to get a unified view as to which of the three systems mentioned would be the best for me.

I am interested in replacing my current hi-fi, dvd player and surround system with an all-in-one solution and for the price range I'm looking at these three seem to fit the bill.

I will be using the home cinema system in conjunction with a 28" CRT telly, PS2 and audio input from my PC's MP3 collection.

To me, these 3 systems all seem to do pretty much the same job, but one thing I cannot find out is which one is better at handling music CD's as I will be using the system for 60% music, 20% PS2 and 20% DVD.

Any light that people can throw on this for me would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,

2. CMcK

CMcK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    I can't say much about the SC8 or the DV990 but I set up a S888 for a work colleague and to my ears it sounded dreadful.

The steering wasn't great, the sound was lacking transparency and the sub seems largely ineffectual.

I would imagine that music would be awful through such a system.

PS2 may be OK though as the few PS2 titles that use DTS are only 4 channel at a heavily reduced bit rate. Most console games use MP3 or similar these days so it's not like your pumping redbook through the PS2's optical output.

Best to keep your hi-fi for playing CD's.

3. Chris4475

Chris4475

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks CMcK,