1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer MXE1 and Aurora TVP-500F card

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Mantorok, Aug 28, 2004.

1. Mantorok

Mantorok

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm considering purchasing a Pioneer 43" MXE1 and want to know whether to get the Aurora TVP-500F card or not. I'll be using the plasma mainly for SD and HD digital TV, DVDs and Nintendo GameCube. I'm still pretty new to the world of plasma.

Has anyone out there used this card? (Is it available yet?) I'm quite interested in it but would like to know more about it and how it performs. I've read the info here but would also like to know:

1. How good are the 2 HDMI inputs? Are they just min spec'ed like the Pioneer one on the HDE/HDG but with HDCP?

2. Does the card have its own internal scaler? If so is it any good?

3. Generally how good is the picture quality compared with the PDA-5003/4?

4. Does it limit my options if I want to get an external video processor in the future? Note that in the short term I don't want to get one.

Any other info people have would be useful

Thanks

2. Mr. Wilby

Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Very good questions. Joe @ TMF is looking into getting the specs for the European model for me at the moment. Hopefully he will step in here when there is some news.

As it stands, I'm holding off buying a 50" MXE-1 for the same reasons as you (I want the HDCP-aware HDMI inputs :).

As far as I can tell, its not yet released.

3. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Hello all

A quick 'Aurora Multimedia' update for now.

The NEW TVP-500F plus EXP4 Expansion slot adapter will be available in Europe from the end of Oct 04.