1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer freeview set up help.

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Maki, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have just purchased a Pioneer set top box and I am very impressed with it too. I have tried three to date and this is by far the best, no blocking, every channel found and a superb picture and sound.

    However, the problem I have is when I come to record something on my VCR. If I record with the TV on and tuned to the digital channel I require, it is fine but when I turn the TV off and programme record, the picture is fine but threre is no sound.

    Has anyone got any ideas on this? Any help appreciated.
     
  2. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, but ive found when connected by SCART the rf channels are the scart pic, messed up,

    is it beause my tv's old?

    i do not have a VCR tho, sorry mate
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Maki: It has to be something to do with the way you have it all cabled up. My guess is that (somehow) the audio signal going into the VCR is being supplied by the TV.

    More information about
    a) how many sockets and of what type are there on the VCR
    b) ditto the Pioneer box

    and how you currently have it cabled. Which 'channel' do you use on the TV for Freeview; And which on the VCR?
     
  4. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +12
    the TV, a Sony KV28SWU has two scarts , RGB and S-video,Composite etc. The freeview box is on the S-video connection at present as a DVD player takes up the RGB. The freeview box has two scarts, TV and VCR.

    At present one scart from the TV on the freeview box to the scart on the TV and a scart VCR from freview to VCR scart. All this as instructed in the manual.

    The video channel appears to be seven on the VCR and freeview on the TV is via AV2.

    Is this any help?
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The only thing that concerns me with your description is reference to Channel 7 on the VCR. You should be using an AV input on the VCR to record Freeview. Other than that, and assuming that the cables are all OK and the various devices are, too, your description looks OK.
     
  6. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nigel, why bother using scart to the VCR?
     
  7. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,200
    Do you mean why connect the Freeview to the VCR through scart ?

    If so because picture will not be as good through the RF connection but more importantly you would only get mono sound :thumbsdow
     
  8. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh, i suppose, i dont bother because i only have a mono VCR
     
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    CARLOS answered the question correctly. And it isn't just about Stereo sound. Picture Quality of recordings will be better, too. An RF (aerial) connection is the worst of all signal protocols in this context. Composite Video is next best, and as good as it gets for a regular VCR. SCARTs carry composite video. Next up is S-Video (only of use, on a VCR, if it is an SVHS machine).
     
  10. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thank you all for your contributions. I remade all th connections and eventually got sound, great!

    Thank you again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...