pioneer dvr320 dvd recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Spuddy, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. Spuddy

    Spuddy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking of buying a Pioneer dvr320 or dvr 220 dvd recorder.
    Has anyone had personal experience of this machine? :confused:
    If so your thoughts would be appreciated.
    Or does any know of a review of this machine?
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    The 320 is the same as the 220 but with iLink - only go for the 320 if you need an iLink connection (for a Digital Camcorder). As well as the Pioneer 220/320 you may want to look at machines with a similar spec:
    - Sony GX300 (no iLink)
    - Toshiba DR3
    - Panasonic E55 (no iLink) or E65 (iLink)
    All are good machines and are worth investigating.

    If you post you proposed uses (what sources you intend to record from, what TV/screen you have, do you want to edit etc) then I'm sure either I or others will be happy to advise further if you wish.
     
  3. David

    David
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I ask you that question while Spuddy's thinking about it. I don't have sky so would only be recording off-air through a freeview box. I'd also want it to be my main DVD player. I do use a video camera but edit it all on a computer and produce the DVDs on that (multi-format Sony device), which this would have to play. I have a new Panny PW7 screen.
    Thanks
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    David, given you have a good screen and want a DVD recorder to be your main DVD player then your choices are (effectively) limited to the Toshiba, Sony or Panasonics. Your Sony multi-drive will not read DVD-RAM so this may rule out the Panasonic (depending on what DVD-ROM drive you have). Both the other brands, Sony and Toshiba, are fussy with what they play - but providing your PC DVDs are DVD-Video compliant they will play.

    Ultimately then the machines to consider (if you want a standalone) are:
    - Sony GX300
    - Toshiba DR3

    ...or if you want a HDD/DVDR combo:
    - Toshiba RDXS32
    - Sony RX900

    The Toshiba RDXS32 is the best all round option and, at around £360, is the best value IMHO as well.
     
  5. David

    David
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, that's really helpful. I should have been a bit clearer about what I called the Sony multi-drive. Its a Sony DRU510A +/-R(W) burner. Can't remember whether it does DVD-RAM though.
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    No Sony drives (none of them) support DVD-RAM either for record or playback so, as I suggested, you may want to limit your search to DVD-RW capabale machines such as the Sony, Toshiba etc
     
  7. Spuddy

    Spuddy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ERE!!!
    Whats happening my posting has been hijacked by Rasczak and David having there own little "te ta tet".

    Is there any one out there that can reply to "MY" original post. :lease:
     
  8. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know of any reviews but i have the 220S and it does me great! I back up my Sky+ recordings mainly and have had no problems. I like the 32 bit rate settings feature most because if you have a 2h 20m movie to backup you set the recorder to approx 2h 20m recording bit rate and you know the quality is a good as you are going to get with the machine............ and the recording quality ain't bad for a budget machine either. I think the price hike of £80-100 for the i-link input is a bit steep on the 320S but if your budget stretches that far and you really want it go for it!
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    I thought I did - post #2 in this thread ;)
     
  10. Spuddy

    Spuddy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there "The judge"
    Your comments are very useful, you seem happy with your machine. I will probably get the 220 as I have an i-link connector on my PC for my digital camcorder. As you say 80 odd quid for the i-link is a little steep.
    Have you used the RW feature for chase playback, if so does it work well.
     
  11. Spuddy

    Spuddy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Rasczak,
    your comments were appreciated it was just that I was interested in hearing from someone who had actually used the machine.
    I have investigated other options and thought the 220/320 was the one for me as it uses proper dvds not dvd-ram like the pannys. the sonys are a little bulky, which is a pity as I like sony kit.
    I want the machine as a replacement for my worn out VCR and shall be using it to record through my sky box plus occasionally its built in tuner.
    My TV is a Sony widescreen and I have a panasonic DVD plaver. :smashin:
     
  12. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    never used the chase play feature as i have Sky+ for that so i cannot comment. You are right about the sony machines though a bit chunky aren't they! pity because i was edging towards a sony before i got the pioneer
     
  13. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    I got a Pio 220 as a replacement for an ailing Philips 75 last week.

    Recorder Tremors the other night from BBC1 using my Pio Freeview box.

    Recorded in 2 hour mode.

    Watched the film last night on my Pio 434 Plasma and it looked fine, no noticeable artifacts.

    It has a fan build it, which runs whenever it is switched on, and is noticeable. The MR for the Plasma has a fan too and the Plasma has a bit of a buzz, so its in good company!

    Not Multiregion. Have tried some Irda codes available on the net for Pio players, but no joy. Miss the ilink it must be said, but Richer Sounds don't sell the 320 just the 420.

    Great User Interface, great quality recording.

    Any more questions, just ask.
     
  14. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    PDP-434HDE, just a quick question - what's the 4 hour record mode (or 3 hour if it supports it).
    2 hours, just isn't enough.
    Also, apart from giving a digital transfer to DVD, rather than an analogue one, what's the point of ilink? i.e. does it give you any extra 'features' - better editing etc.
    Azzo
     
  15. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    1hr/2hr/4hr/6hr are the standard modes but there are 32 other modes, so yes 3 hour is possible.

    ILINK only required if you have a Digital Camcorder, which I have.
     
  16. Spuddy

    Spuddy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to everybody for the replies to my question.
    I shall be ordering a pioneer dvr320.
    ASP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...