pioneer dvr-520h, Freezing pic on hdd playback

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Palmbeach, Feb 20, 2005.

  1. Palmbeach

    Palmbeach
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have had pio for 2 months now and delighted, However on 3 occasions I have experienced a `freezing` of playback from hdd. This can last for 5 mins or so before continuing as normal. The picture seems to `pause` and `judder/jitter`.
    The manual says that
    `If the picture freezes and the front panel and remote control buttons stop working`
    then
    `press the front panel standby/on button to switch the power off, theswitch back on and restart playback. If the power fails to switch off, press and hold the standby/on button for 10 secs untill the power switches off`

    I do not get the remote and panel freezing, just the pic!
    So is this a known fault, even though their q&a symptoms are not quite the same as mine.

    Could this be a hdd fault?
    Does the hdd need a re-format?
    Is this a common/normal occurrance?
    Anyone else had this?

    I have emailed a question to Pioneer, But as on prior occassions, I know that they are not the most rapid of repliers. (is that a word?)

    Just a note of reassurance to those others who have a pio, I am so pleased with my machine, that even if this is a common/known fault I am prepared to live with it. I wouldnt part with it for anything, But, obviously, I would prefer it fixed
     
  2. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    It sounds like bad blocks on the HDD to me. Not seen anything like that on my 420. I would have expected all these units to be able to cope with bad blocks and automatically disable them once encountered. Personally I would RMA it, hard drive errors will only get worse over time if it is a fault. If it happened more frequently U could check if it was the HDD by recording to DVD only for a few days to see if it goes away.
     
  3. anna the dub

    anna the dub
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I thought this had happened to me once and I got all into a panic thinking my HD was packing up. However, I then noticed that the counter was continuing on as normal, while the picture was juddering. I then realised that it was not the HD but, in fact, the broadcast from sky that I had recorded , skips and jumps and all. Could this be what is happening with yours? Not the HD but another crap signal from Sky?
     
  4. Palmbeach

    Palmbeach
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, its not sky, don`t have it. But thank-you for your suggestion. Have you had any instance of this problem re-occurring?
    The recording I first noticed it on was an `emmerdale`, recorded from the analogue tuner, the next was a recording of `life begins at 40`, same tuner. There was another time, which I can`t recall, but I do remember that it would have been from the tuner.
    I must remember that when it happens again, to take note of the counter readings, too see if it continues to count whilst the problem is there.

    I have a fear that it may be the hard drive, but the 520 is only 2 months old, so the warranty is still good. I shall wait, however, for a reply from Pioneer, before I start having a hissy fit.
     
  5. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Try calling them and ask for Technical Support. I've found them helpful on the phone. The number is in the manual.
     
  6. anna the dub

    anna the dub
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12

    No, I have not had any reoccurance. I have had my 420 for 5 months now and no problems at all. Sorry, I can't be of help
     

Share This Page

Loading...