Pioneer DVR-520 connections

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ajh1979, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. ajh1979

    ajh1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    W-s-M, North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +574
    Firstly i apologise for another 'connections' thread, have searched but not found so far :)

    I have just become the proud owner of a Pioneer DVR-520 so am now in the process of setting the beast up!

    I'm basically replacing my VCR with DVR-520.

    Other equipment includes :-

    Sky+
    Pioneer DV-747A (component connection)
    Toshiba 32ZP18 (x3 scart, component)
    Denon AVR-2801 AV AMP

    Really its the SCART connections thats confusing me, connecting to the Denon AMP is straight forward enough.

    Any help greatly appreciated :smashin:
     
  2. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Try this:

    1. Sky+ (TV output) > Pioneer 520 > TV AV1 (all set to RGB) - using scart leads.
    2. Sky+ (S-video socket and 2 x phono) > TV AV2 (all set to s-video) - using S-video/phono to scart connector lead.
    3. VCR TV scart > TV AV3 (composite) (all set to composite) - using scart lead.
    4. 747 > TV AV4 (component)
    5. VCR Aux Scart > 520 front AV3 (all set to composite) - using scart to 3 x phono lead.

    1. For recording from sky+ or watching sky+ in RGB (passthrough) or watching a recording on the 520 in RGB.
    2. For watching sky+ in s-video if the 520 is busy dubbing or recording from its analogue tuner.
    3. For watching any videos you might still have.
    4. For watching DVD's from your 747.
    5. For copying from VCR to DVD/HDD (if you want to).
     
  3. ajh1979

    ajh1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    W-s-M, North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +574
    Thanks for the reply, have set it all up now and all is ok, copying, recording etc.

    Only thing i've noticed is that the sound from Sky+ has become slightly distorted, its not a major problem but i know its there so its bugging me!

    Any ideas as to why this could happen?, im using the same cables as before so im baffled.

    Cheers! :)
     
  4. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Are you using the TV or the amp for your sound?

    What audio connections do you have?
     
  5. ajh1979

    ajh1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    W-s-M, North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +574
    The distortion is when using the TV for sound, the AMP sound is fine, im using the same scart leads as before, its only since setting up the dvd recorder that the sound has deteriorated. I've tried a few different cables and the sound is the same with them all, could it be the dvd recorder?
     
  6. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Do you mean the recorded sound on the DVD-R is distorted compared with VCR recordings you made previously?
     
  7. ajh1979

    ajh1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    W-s-M, North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +574
    No sorry didn't explain properly :)

    The sound in general is worse than before, just viewing Sky+ normally i mean.

    Must be the cables but i can't see how, think i'll have look properly at the weekend.
     
  8. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Must be a loose/duff cable I would have thought, try disconnecting each item one at a time and reconnecting one at a time and see which causes the audio problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...