1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pioneer dv868

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sjw998r, Mar 21, 2004.

  1. sjw998r

    sjw998r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Picked up my 868 from dealer on saturday, get home open it up and the power lead is just a euro 2 pin plug??
    Should there be an uk adapter plug (where you connet the 2 pin plug in to a uk plug shell) with this or have got a euro spec dvd player??:confused:
     
  2. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what Pioneer do. I think the dealer is supposed to swap it. I don't think there's a special UK version. I suspect it's actually illegal to supply it in that form as a retail product. Tell your trading standards officer if you want and he'll probably visit your dealer.
     
  3. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    It is illegal for Pioneer UK to supply product to their dealers without the proper (fitted) UK plug/plug adapter and I would be very surprised if they have done so... If the dealer sells a grey imported model, then obviously the responsibility lies with them to supply the correct (fitted) plug/plug adapter...

    If you are concerned about the players origin then question Pioneer UK directly with the dealers name and the players serial number...
     
  4. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Pioneer UK take their share of the European bound players with 2-pin plugs and must swap over the power cables in UK, however they do seem to keep forgettting!! (the entire first shipment of 868s never had the UK power cables - the odd one or two still comes up!)

    They have done the same on a few of the new HDE plasmas too!! This time UK plug, but at the media box end a 2 pin connector instead of 3.

    Hardly a case for trading standards though!!!!!
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I had one of the first 868i's in the country.
    As Liam says, my supplier had to open the box and fit the UK adaptor before he would let me take it.
    Both my Sony and Pioneer Amps came with euro adapters.:)
     
  6. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I'm not suggesting you inform trading standards, however you would have a case... I'm very surprised by the comments regarding Pioneer UK, someone's not do their job properly... It shouldn't be the dealers responsibility to open and check every box, that responsibility lies at the point at which it enters the UK... If I'd just spent £800+ I'd be pretty annoyed to find a two pin plug..!
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Don't think I'd be too concerned so long as I knew it was not a grey import. Most of the time I need to shorten the leads anyway to try to reduce the spaghetti behind the rack as much as possible. Just a good excuse to do immediately rather than leave and forget :)

    BTW, you can delete the duplicate post if you wish. Click edit then check the delete box (top left) and click the delete button. Guess you got a bit impatient waiting for it to load :D
     
  8. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Come to think of it, I didn't get a mains cable with mine.....no problem as I've got a dozen lying around...good to be able to use one up!
     
  9. chillo

    chillo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the advice, got a normal kettle lead when i dropped in to see the dealer. Works great and i'm very impressed with the 868.
    Just waiting delivery of my 434 on Monday!!
    wo hoo!!
    (i was sjw998r, just re registered under my normal id of chillo)
     

Share This Page

Loading...