Pioneer DV575A firmware

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Rip, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. Rip

    Rip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    HI, does anyone know of anywhere to download firmware for a Pioneer dv575a dvd player, i hear that theer is a version 2.09 going about, but i cant find it in my searches......... :smashin:
     
  2. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +277
  3. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +9
    Guys,

    what does this firmware upgrade improve?

    cheers

    drago.d
     
  4. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    There is also a 3rd party firmware for the 575, available here: http://mtz.softpedia.com/index.php

    It mainly concentrates on improving subtitle support [better fonts and layout]. I have it on mine but haven't tried anything with subs yet to test it.
     
  5. Rip

    Rip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thank you Pug72, you are a saviour, a shinning sample, a knight in shinning armour ect......you know wot i mean, thanks dude........ :thumbsup:
     
  6. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +277
    No probs.
     
  7. EmissarY

    EmissarY
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a black 575A that was purchased from digital-point.co.uk, can anyone tell me if I choose to upgrade to the latest firmware, will this reset the multiregion function of this unit?

    Cheers,

    EmissarY.
     
  8. deltafx

    deltafx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    how do i check what firmware i have
     
  9. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,928
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +875
    On the Pioneer website, the following warning is given about applying the update -

    After updating, some of the user-customisable settings of the player may be reset to the original "fresh-out-of-the-box" defaults. Please verify in advance of the update if there are any such customisations, and where necessary re-apply the desired changes in the user-customisable settings of the player after the update.

    Whather or not this applies to M/R modification, I do not know but it is better that you are aware of the above.

    Hope this helps you.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  10. EmissarY

    EmissarY
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx Martin,

    I think I will stay on the side of caution and leave it as it is. If it aint broke dont fix it.

    The only reason I wanted to upd the firmware was becasue I read on a post here, that the newer firmware makes the 575A boot up dvds faster, I have to admit, mine runs some R1 discs (SW Trilogy in particular) very slowly at boot up. But as they say, the best things come to those who wait! :smoke:

    Cheers,

    EmissarY.
     
  11. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    i put in the latest firmware in my 575 and the multi region settings were left intact, the other changes you have made eg sound mode picture modes etc will be back at factory defaults but the multiregion was still there
     
  12. Rip

    Rip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If anyone is worrying, I have installed the 2.09 update & all went well, this is what is written in the Instructions that were with the 2.09 firmware.

    1.Download and Burn the Disc image using Nero Burning rom.
    2.Put the disc in the DV-575.
    3.A screen should appear saying that a firmware update has been detected and it will
    upgrade if you press play
    4.Press Play and the upgrade will begin.
    5.After a few minutes the disc will eject,
    take the disc out of the tray but DO NOT PRESS ANY BUTTONS OR TURN OFF THE MACHINE.
    6.After a few more minutes the player should reboot and the Pioneer logo will display on the TV screen.
    The player has now been sucessfully upgraded.
    This won't effect the multi region upgrade carried out by AVLAND, the unit will remain multi region


    It does state there that after a few minutes the disc will eject, but i found it was really quick, it did take a minute or two before it did reboot tho, good luck..... :thumbsup:
     
  13. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    As per at least 3 other threads on this forum....

    1, Updating your firmware does not change the multiregion status.

    2, "to get the firmware version of your player you need to highlight the word 'Options' in the set-up menu, then press display on your remote control"
     
  14. fire boy

    fire boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,
    sorry to cut in but I wonder if anyone could offer me some advice.

    I just bought a 575 pioneer dvd player off ebay which plays multi region dvds.

    All o.k but disc recognition take a while and, after reading a thread, seen that a firmware update could fix this.

    I checked my player for which version it was using (thanks NX3)
    It then said.. REGION 2
    VERSION 1.22

    Is this an old firmware version or am I looking at the wrong thing.

    I ask this because looking on the forum I see that most players are running 2.05 and the latest is 2.09 and the number in mine is quite low.

    This may sound stupid but as far as AV goes i'm only a pup!
     
  15. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +277
    This player does indeed take a little while to load up. Don't worry it's normal.
     
  16. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    Firmware 1.22 is one of the earliest firmwares for the Pioneer 575 / 470.

    The firmware will say a region setting even if the machine is multiregion, this is 100% normal for this model.

    I'd suggest you update to firmware 2.09, see link in this thread and see if the disc loading time improves. Thought my 470 is not the fastest disc loading dvd player I've owned!!
     
  17. Rip

    Rip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    That does seem to be old, as is says above, update to the 2.09 version, mine went well so good luck.
     
  18. fire boy

    fire boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'd suggest you update to firmware 2.09, see link in this thread and see if the disc loading time improves. Thought my 470 is not the fastest disc loading dvd player I've owned!![/QUOTE]
    Hi thanks for the info guys :smashin:

    Downloaded the link from avland and it says rip it to disc using Nero and I don't have nero on my laptop.
    Would this cause me grief? :confused:
     
  19. fire boy

    fire boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I must say everyone on this forum is very helpful
     
  20. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    Go to Nero.com and get the demo nero. It will only let you burn at x1 speed but the file is very small so won't take long.

    What cd-writing software do you have ? It might read nero cd-images.
     
  21. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    My version of the 575 is 1.44.So i downloaded the firmware upgrade from avland and burned

    it to cd-r and the player comes back with cant read disc.Tried this with nero express and

    after throwing away 6 cd-rs which didnt work decided to phone for free update disc from

    pioneer 01753789500.Has anyone tried this disc and does this affect multi-region?
     
  22. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    It does *NOT* effect multiregion at all.

    Not sure why the disc image on Avland didn't work for you. You did select in Nero to open cd image and not just put the file onto a cd ?
     
  23. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Firmware updates do not affect multi-region status on the 575. I haven't tried the Pioneer disc though, I burned mine to CD-RW.
     
  24. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    oops! :blush: guess i might still wait for disc from pioneer though as no more cd-r s left!
     
  25. fire boy

    fire boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    :clap:

    Thanks NX3, done as U said and all worked perfectly. :thumbsup:

    You are a god among insects! ;)

    GCBD if U want i'll send u my disc, just PM me with your address if U want :smashin:
     
  26. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks fireboy but got it to work eventually(7th disc,bought others),had to open it in nero in image file.Obvious to others,only had nero 1 week so a bit fumbling in dark,but thanks anyway! :smashin:
     
  27. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    Glad your both updated. I'll explain about Nero more clearly in future...sorry....
     
  28. simacom

    simacom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. I flashed my new 575 with 2.09 firmware but i cant see any subtitles. I burnt a dvd with .sub subtitles with the right filename(twicw checked) Does it matter if avi is burnt on dvd or cd?
     
  29. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    I thought it only did SRT and SMI format subtitles with divx ? (I could be wrong of course). Anyway the file have to have the exact same name as the avi its the subtitle too. Then use the subtitle button on the remote to toggle. I've tested on a Pioneer 470 with firmware 2.09 and it works fine but only used SRT format.

    DVD or CD will not make a difference.
     
  30. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    Correction is supports "srt, .sub, .ssa, .smi" ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...