Pioneer DV444K

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sparkybun, Mar 5, 2002.

  1. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hello!

    I'm looking to buy the Pioneer 444. I need a slim model to fit in my TV cabinet and this one got Editors choice on Home-entertainment.co.uk (and it's sub £200!!). There are a number of places offering it Multiregion - Techtronics, homecinemaheaven, onlineuk etc...

    What I would appreciate is anyone who owns a 444 and can recommend it and also where is the best place to buy a multiregion. I know that the Toshiba 210E is possibly better but it is not as slim as the Pioneer!!

    Thanks everyone in advance!
     
  2. andypandy

    andypandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    I own this model. I upgraded from the Samsung 709. Purchased the multi-region/macrovision disabled version from AV Land -£270.

    Pictures are sharper and colours are stronger than my previous model.

    The only small niggly thing is when playing mp3's (and it does nicely) you don't get the full filename appearing or even any ID tag displaying. I can live with it at that price !

    It has played everything I have chucked at it so far and I must say the layer change isn't that noticeable - now that is strange!
     
  3. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +24
    thanks andypandy
     
  4. mitch316

    mitch316
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    £270 for a 444?
    i paid £270 for a 545 from multiregionmagic.
    it is a fantastic player.
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andypandy obviously means £189 ,cos I got mine from AVLand 2 weeks ago multiregion/macro disabled.Can`t fault it excellent player,and sparkybun,don`t get confused about the tosh being better,it`s only "better" because it has component outs on the back,IMO the pioneer is far better,plus I don`t think the tosh is macrodisabled when it gets multiregion chipped,but I am sure some tosh fan will put me right there. :clown:
     
  7. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks very much everyone. I've bought it from AVLAND for £189!

    Can't wait to get it set up!

    Cheers and thanks again
     
  8. andypandy

    andypandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    oops, sorry, I have been out for a while and just noticed my mistake. I did indeed buy the 444 from avland at £180.
     
  9. janice

    janice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there a hack out there to get into multi regions without the need to chip also ow do you disable macrovision.
     
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry janice,you have to have it chipped to be multi region...actually I am lying to you there,if you get it from AVland all they do is flash the firmware and that makes it macro disabled as well as multi region,but there is no remote hack out there for this machine,it`s generally cheap chinese imports that can be hacked via the remote......sorry just noticed you already have one, TECHTRONICS do an upgrade for that machine for about £80.
     
  11. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +24
    having recently purchased this model, is there anyone out there that can help with the settings for the audio. Do I select Dolby Digital OR Dolby Digital>PCM. What is the difference?

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice