Pioneer DV-575A

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Xstyle, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Is the Pioneer DV-575A the best dvd player upto £150???

    I've read the review on the link above... and does sound good!!
    But are there any better contendors, in the price range?
     
  2. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    i got my 575 last week and it whoops the azur 540d it replaced well worth the £120
     
  3. kasumi

    kasumi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    wigan
    Ratings:
    +33
    I too bought one last week from Richer Sounds £119.95

    I tell you, best money ever spent, and I've spent some serious money over the years!
    Improvement over £500 older sony is immense.
    Connected to my Pioneer 2011 THX amp, sounds great too.
     
  4. vectrasri99

    vectrasri99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you people using progressive output?

    Where they RCE multi region for that price and is it auto changing of region?

    Cheers
    M
     
  5. kasumi

    kasumi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    wigan
    Ratings:
    +33
    yes, yes and err yes!

    good ey
     
  6. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    had my player for about a week now and i am very happy with it the progressive picture is very good, i replaced my old tosh 510 and the picture is on a par with that and i paid £300 for that and it only did ntsc progressive, where the pioneer does pal and ntsc progressive, with the added bonus of divx which works very well
     
  7. denden

    denden
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Take a look at Philips DVP-720 AS, great audio, great video, and great divx with subtitles. I heard that Pioneer can not play divx subtitles. If you do not need subtitles with divx, stay with Pioneer.
     
  8. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,858
    I believe the new 575 frmware adds divx subtitles .
     
  9. Mr_Fantastic

    Mr_Fantastic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +51
    Subtitle problems with DivX players seems to be extremely common for some reason, I've seen it mentioned on just about every DivX player I've looked at. It seems to be added after release by firmware updates for some reason.
     
  10. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does the 575A play all kinds of DivX & AviD disks? I currently have the Yamada 6600 player which does play both very well. I'm just thinking that I'm missing out on something even better!
     
  11. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    I have both the Yamada 6600 and the Pioneer 575.

    Firstly you can't compare the build quality, the Pioneer is much better, but then it's over twice the price so you'd expect that.

    I haven't tried an extensive amount of MPEG4's, but it seems what one plays the other will.

    There are a number of discs (Xvid's) I have that won't play (well they play, but stutter/jerk terribly) on the Yamada and likewise have the same problems on the Pioneer. Having done some encoding tests of my own it seems to be files encdoded with 2 successive b frames that causes the problem. This is the default for Xvid so that explains why they've been encoded like this, but if you look at the DivX home theatre specs this only allows for 1 successive b frame.

    Rob.
     
  12. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    The stuttering is caused cause of the packed pit stream, per my previous posts :

    "Every Mediatek based player has problems with xvid+bvop>1+packed bitstream
    enabled. Unfortunatly thats the default in Xvid 1.0.

    You can set bvop=1 or disable packet bitstream to solve the problems.

    Theres also a tool wich can remove packet bitstream afterwards without
    reencoding: http://www.moitah.net"

    Also the 575 firmware update adds ogg support and subtitles for divx and works very well so far :)
     
  13. tuttonp

    tuttonp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +237
    Recently purchased a 575 to replace my 565!!. No major differences though the stated GUI changes are nowhere to be seen.

    Any idea how I

    A. Find out what Firmware I have
    B. Understand which firmware provides OGG support
    C. Work out how to flash the f/w without borking the macjine or losing the M/R capabilities.
     
  14. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    A : "to get the firmware version of your player you need to highlight the word 'Options' in the set-up menu, then press display on your remote control"

    B : 2.09 is the updated firmware from Pioneer

    C : Flashing new firmware on the 575 and 470 does NOT effect if your player is multiregion or not. E.g if your machine is M/R now, you can flash the update and it will stay M/R.
     
  15. tuttonp

    tuttonp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +237
    Next daft question is - "how do I go about flashing the firmware???". Is it a simple case of downloading from pioneer, burning it to cdr and then invoking an upgrade via remote keystrokes??. Pointers would be appreciated.
     
  16. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    you can download the latest firmware from here you then use nero to burn the image file, you then put the disc in the player it then automaticaly updates the firmware, instructions come with the download,

    i updated my player which i bought from richer sounds and the multi region stays intact
     
  17. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,877
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +836
    I downloaded firmware for my 575 here...

    http://www.avland.co.uk/pioneer/dv575/dv575.htm

    It comes with a small readme which tells you exactly what to do. The readme states that you drop the disc in and wait for the player to do the business. At some short point afterwards it ejects the tray and at this point you must remove the disc. Leave the tray open just make sure you remove the disc.

    It seems to take an eternity and the screen shows Upgrading Firmware ( or words to that effect ) but at this point the player is upgrading itself. It is very important not to interfere with the player duringthis process. After this time the player will reboot itself and all should be well.

    Lets face it flashing the firmware on any of your devices can always be a brown trouser type affair.

    Hope thi shas helped.

    Keith Hurst
     
  18. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    You mean Ogg Vorbis sound files? I upgraded my 575's firmware just this morning and I didn't know that it also supported Ogg Vorbis...
     
  19. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    I've not tested it buy on divx forums, surdvd and a few others people say they got ogg and ogm working on the 470 / 575.
     
  20. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23
    Anyone know the best internet place to get a multi-region 575 ?
    I don't have a Richer Sounds anywhere near me, so preferably online.
    Pixmania are doing it for £110, but not MR...

    any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  21. allanp

    allanp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +94
    If you have a pda such as a pocket pc or palm, you can make it region free for free.
     
  22. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I bought mine last week on www.rgbdirect.co.uk for £119 multi-region, not had it delivered yet though. I just noticed they have since put the price up to £128.95. Empire Direct have it for about £120 as well but they won't have any in stock until January. A warning about Pixmania [who have increased their 575 price to £115 now], I think they ship from France and usually U get the manual in French. At least this is how it was the last time I was hooked by their cheap prices on digital cameras, maybe they've changed.
     
  23. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23
    Thanks... will steer clear of Pixmania then.

    Don't have a PDA, but know a man who does... think its an IPAQ, is it a simple thing to do on a PDA?
     
  24. Lek

    Lek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only used a Palm to "free" my Pioneer DV-470, but the procedure for an IPAQ should be similar. Check the forums on VideoHelp.com, and get the .CCF file from Remote Central. Note that the same hack seems to work for all the newer Pioneer models, so check the other VideoHelp Pioneer posts for more information. You'll also find instructions for using a laptop or PC with an IrDA port in there, so a PDA is not strictly necessary if you've got one of those.

    Good luck.
     
  25. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23
    Thanks Lek...
    Yes, have a laptop with an irda port, so will use that... thanks a million!
     
  26. fire boy

    fire boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have the old pioneer 565 dvd player and have just purchased a panny pd50 36" tv.
    Would an upgade to a 575 be justified in terms of picture quaility?
     
  27. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    I have the old(er?) 525, driving a PJTX100 projector via SVHS. Just bought the 575 from Richer, mainly for prog scan and component (525 doesn't have component outputs).
    The more I see the 575 picture (only had a few days) the more I appreciate how "cleaner" it is. Not a massive leap forward, but an advance nonetheless. Also nice to have the ability to give DVD-A and SACD a try.
    For under 120 quid it's a bargain...
     
  28. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    I know people rave about Pioneer and how good they are and I'm certainly not knocking this dvd player but when you think about it almost everything about it is chinese. The mediatek chipset, the firmware and I bet construction are all chinese. Its possibly Pioneer wrote the firmware for the player but its much more likely that it was programmed by Mediatek for Pioneer and even if Pioneer customised it the core firmware will be mediatek.

    There is almost nothing japanese about this player at all except the badge and the styling.

    I'm not saying this is a bad thing but its a sign of the times that I find quite interesting.
     
  29. trailer

    trailer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +231
    I bought a 575 off RGB a couple of weeks ago for £122. Excellent service

    The player.....

    Feels a bit plastic....doesnt look anything special.......

    Plays like a dream...........looks and sounds fantastic

    Especially good on DVD- Audio. Im currently running it through a Naim / Linn front end and a Cambridge Audio Azur 540 R for the rears and centre. (Linn 5110s and a B&W VM1). The sound is well balanced and the bass is very deep, but not overblown.

    Picture quality is very good although I haven't tried the progressive outputs...just the RGB.

    All in all a bargain for £120...and it can play SACD DivX etc etc........no need for an upgrade for a while...........ahem
     
  30. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    I'd be 99% sure Pioneer don't make the firmware and get Mediatek to do it. From what I've read elsewhere Mediatek have a good income from firmware.
     

Share This Page

Loading...