pioneer DV-575A setup advise

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rhino2k, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    okey dokey peeps, any advise on how to best setup this little beast then?

    i have a feeling a firmware update will be first, but any other suggestions welcome :D

    running on a hyundai hpt4240, with a vsx-c301 amp.

    thanks for looking ;)
     
  2. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    also, are there any visual test discs i can DL from the net?

    thanks again :thumbsup:
     
  3. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    anyone :lease:
     
  4. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    12,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +7,934
    A lot of dvd movies have something called a THX Optomizer on them which can help set it all up for you. Or better still is an Avia set up disc or Video Essentials dvd.
     
  5. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +564
    Try BNR=On, Sharpness=Fine...PJ
     
  6. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    thanks mate, i'll look into it :smashin:

    i should say that films like "i robot" look simply awesome how i have it setup atm :thumbsup:
     
  7. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    mucho gracias, i'll have a play :D

    did i read somewhere that there is a "blacker than black" setting or something similar availible with a firmware update?

    again the black is fine on the right films, not tried "the fifth element yet though", thats another one that looks good :D
     
  8. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    EDITED TO NILL...
     
  9. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    that's meant for NTSC sources I believe because NTSC has its 0 black level standardized at 7,5 IRE, thus NTSC black is not entirely black but a bit grey so this setting should drop it to completely black (no voltage, no electron beam hitting the phosphor, no gas initiation, no nothing...hehe)...
     
  10. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    hmm, well i had robin hood on yesterday (for the scenery mainly, really nice locations :cool: ) and i know it's very low quality compared to todays stuff, but it just looked a little odd :(

    however lethal weopan 4 looked pretty good, i't just that on older films the black can look a tad green/brown. i guess this is down to the source more than the equipment though :rolleyes:
     
  11. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    12,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +7,934
    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: The older films being Robin Hood and the green/brown being the tree's for the scenery shots you were looking at? :rotfl:
     
  12. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    :rolleyes:

    sherwood forest never looked so green....and brown :rotfl:

    seriously though, older stuff just looks dull, lifeless and pants!

    whacked i robot on again earlier and it looked even better after doing what pjtx100 said :thumbsup:
     
  13. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +219
    Keep an eye on the BNR setting though - with poorer transfers or if you create your own dvds from (say) .avi's you might find it creates odd-looking 'smudges'.

    Memphis Belle for example is a shockingly bad transfer (the film is ok though!) and if BNR is enabled it just makes it look smudged. Sharpness to Fine is a must though, certainly in my experience with my Z3.
     

Share This Page

Loading...