• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Pioneer BDP-LX70 - good buy?

snudge77

Standard Member
Hi folks,

Newbie here so please forgive any part of what follows which seems like idiocy!

I currently have a Linn Unidisk SC which is hooked up to a Pioneer PDP-42XD through s-video. Am feeling a post-Christmas upgrade urge...

I've found a Pioneer BDP-LX70 player for about £300, and am looking for advice on three fronts.

- Firstly, I don't know if anyone out there would be able to give me an idea of whether - relating to standard DVD picture quality - this is an upgrade. In other words, for playing DVDs will the Pioneer definitely offer me an improvement in PQ?

- Secondly, I understand that there are limitations in the featureset of this model relating to versions of HDMI and Blu-ray spec. I don't really watch any bonus features of DVDs - am I losing out on anything major here?

- Thirdly, does £300 sound like good value for this model? Aware that I could just go buy a PS3 or current model alternative from another brand...

Any help would be really appreciated.

kingfats

Distinguished Member
Hi folks,

Newbie here so please forgive any part of what follows which seems like idiocy!

I currently have a Linn Unidisk SC which is hooked up to a Pioneer PDP-42XD through s-video. Am feeling a post-Christmas upgrade urge...

I've found a Pioneer BDP-LX70 player for about £300, and am looking for advice on three fronts.

- Firstly, I don't know if anyone out there would be able to give me an idea of whether - relating to standard DVD picture quality - this is an upgrade. In other words, for playing DVDs will the Pioneer definitely offer me an improvement in PQ?