1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer and HDMI?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Xstyle, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I am getting Pioneer 435XDE and the 868avi.
    I've heard people say that the HDMi cable you get with the plasma is not very good... why is this?

    Which HDMI cable is the best to use instead, if not the original one supplied?

    Many thanks,
    Xstyle
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    HDMI (high-definition multimedia interface) allows digital transmission of video and audio signals, that are not compressed. Transmission is direct and "pure" - free of the degradation and noise that occur with analog signal transmission. This new interface supports image resolution all the way up to 1125p.

    HDMI is particularly well suited for images that will be viewed on plasma display panels, LCDs, and other equipment that uses all-digital image processing.

    Regards to cable, Chord HDMI is meant to be good. Click here
     
  3. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Thanks for the link. :thumbsup:

    Chord are voted:
    So I guess you can't get better?
    How about price ... is HiFi 4 Less the cheapest stockist?


    Cheers!
     
  4. Steve Zodiac

    Steve Zodiac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Space City
    Ratings:
    +173
    I'm not convinced that spending more on a digital interconnect is a wise investment. As far as I understand, the signal is either received or not.

    A more expensive cable may allow greater transmission distances, but I wouldn't think any cable would make a difference over a few metres.

    A 3 metre cable from the previously mentioned link is £85.

    From the link below it is £18.80.

    3 metre HDMI - HDMI cable
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Agree with Steve – it is indeed a contentious subject but I think branding doesn’t make the same differences as it does with analogue cables.
     
  6. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    So u may as well stay with the current original Pioneer cable that comes with the plasma?
     
  7. Steve Zodiac

    Steve Zodiac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Space City
    Ratings:
    +173
    If the Pioneer plasma comes with a HDMI digital cable and it is long enough, then use it and save your money!

    When digital transmission systems were first used for telecomms purposes, one of the advantages was that it can work perfectly over lower quality cables.
     
  8. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I'd prob say I only need 1 meter anyhow...

    Will see when I get the plasma.
     

Share This Page

Loading...