1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer amp/receiver with HDMI

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Apekop, Feb 18, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Apekop

    Apekop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys!

    I'm considering buying a Pioneer ax10ai but for future proofing I would
    really like to have it with HDMI switching. I know this is not available yet,
    but has anyone heard of any future Pioneers with this feature included??

    Also I would like to know if it would work well with my B&W 603 s3's or
    would it be better to upgrade to something better than those too?

    I like to listen to radio too, can anyone recommend a good tuner
    to go with this machine?
    Thanks alot!!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  2. Grimley

    Grimley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Deepest, Darkest Essex, so BEWARE!
    Ratings:
    +82
    If you go to the Bristol Show next weekend & visit the Pioneer room Chances are John Bamford will be there (hes the head honcho IIRC) ask him as he will know what's planned for the next generation of amps receivers. :)
     
  3. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    I've just been looking at the Panny S97 (their 'flagship' DVD player) and Panny SAXR70 receiver . £300 and £378 respectively. These both have HDMI so you can go from player to pj via hdmi - seems to be the way of the future.

    Cheers

    Ray
     
  4. Apekop

    Apekop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys,
    Unfortunately I won't be able to make it to Bristol as I live in Holland
    and don't have the time. If anybody else get's a chance to talk to
    this gentleman, you know what to ask!!!

    I'm also still wondering about B&W 603's with the ax10ai.
    Anybody?
     
  5. 1 GND

    1 GND
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I run my ax10ais with Mirage OM7`s etc (about £2000 for the front pair) and sound is awseome. Also as this amp has a fantastic range of auto set up options with inc` mic etc it will blend in perfect i`m sure with the B+W`s.

    Did once audition Arcam AV8/P7 with your exact B+W`s and that was also great, then went to another audition Arcam AV8/P7 with the Mirage OM7`s and fell in love with the speakers.

    When pairing the Mirages at home with the AX10 sound quality only dropped say 5% compared to the Arcam and that was the original MKI version! So am very confident you would love the Pioneer although I don`t even use the video side so up to you on that one.
     
  6. Apekop

    Apekop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks,
    I'm just not sure whether I should get better speakers and go for the
    ax5ai or spend the speaker money on a ax10ai !?!
    Guess I will continue going to shops to audition the amps and speakers.
    Cheers!
     
  7. Kobus

    Kobus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also busy with an upgrade and have gone through all these issues before (actually still going through them). I would say that the AX10 is over the top with the 603's. You do not need anything more than the Ax5 with speakers in that power range. If you can, a great improvement will be if you can try the B&W 704. Even if you can not do this now, the AX5 has more than enough power and features including HDMI.
     
  8. BAN5HEE

    BAN5HEE
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +375
    I don't think the ax5 has HDMI. Not even the ax10 has HDMI. The only one with HDMI is the DENON AVC - A1XV.As far as I know
     
  9. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  10. Kobus

    Kobus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes the AX5 only has i-link.
     

Share This Page

Loading...