Pioneer 9G Owners Thread part 3

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Bumtious, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    Like the 8G thread this will be for 9G owners.

    Keep checking back here this is where settings will be posted and when allowed to will post all sorts of info regarding the sets.

    This first post will continue to grow with info.

    There is a microsite now up on Pioneers web site but I guess thay are still working on it as it is a bit flakeyand the numties have put the H models up, I stress these are NOT available here in the UK.

    I will add a link in my sig to come back to here like with 8G

    I have already spoke with the ISF guys in Belgium and the feeling is that with the 5090/6090 the existing software will work, but for the KRPs work is likely to be needed but there is 3-4 months for that to be done. But no tests have been done, as soon as I get my mits on one I will check this out.

    ****SETTINGS WILL APPEAR BE HERE SHORTLY****

    The 3 models With feature list

    LX 5090/6090

    KRP 500/600 Media Box

    KRP 500/600 Monitor

    LX6090 Undermount speaker

    LX5090 Rear shot

    LX6090 Rear shot

    ********

    ***PLEASE NOTE THE SPECS MAY CHANGE PRIOR TO LAUNCH***

    Edit Full press details, images, PDFs and more now posted here: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=765544

    Video coverage is now available.
    Part One: 9G screens and features. Here
    Part Two: 10G and the deal with Panasonic, what is the future for Kuro. Here
    Part Three: Blu-Ray players and Amplifiers for 2008. Coming soon
    Part Four: Tim Vine-Lott from AIR studios on the relationship with Pioneer. Coming soon
     
  2. Julie

    Julie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +706
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  3. Martienus

    Martienus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice, following, just bought a LX5090, scheduled for next week. Can;t wait.
     
  4. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +67
    Originally quoted by Alper029;

    What is worse than the LG is; when the dark coloured parts of the picture change to a bright colour, the pixels respond slowly to this transformation. I can see brown or purple pixels flashing when the picture goes from for example purple to white. This also happens when the info box on the right hand side disappears. It looks like those pixels are slower than the others around them.

    Unquote.

    Hi Alper029. My 5090 suffers from this exact same problem (only at the top of the screen). It is now at the authorised Pioneer repair centre (where it has been for the past two and a half weeks) and they have now informed me that they have got to replace the panel. They have ordered one from Pioneer and are now awaiting it's arrival so that they can then do the replacement).
     
  5. Meridius

    Meridius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +206
  6. Redbull75

    Redbull75
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wanted to say thanks to all on this thread/forum for the valuable information I've been soaking up. :thumbsup:

    My 5090 arrived a couple of days ago and I'm blown away by it. Watched a Blu Ray on the day it arrived and the picture can only be described as stunning. And it's going to improve too! PS3 and 360 also amazing!

    Very happy indeed. :clap:

    Anybody on the fence thinking of buying I would definitely recommend. :devil:
     
  7. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,527
    Yep they do seem to get better as the hours mount up.:smashin:
     
  8. Alper029

    Alper029
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi MrNPG,

    I have posted a new message on your own thread about this problem.

    Cheers

     
  9. DeckingJim

    DeckingJim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I have ordered teh 5090 Pioneer and am having it delivered on Tue
    Do you suggest I just leave the settings straight out of box to begin with or change them

    I have SKY HD and PS3 ( movies mainly ) runninmg through ONKYO 875 so just one HDMI to TV
    I may also think about dedicated blue ray player if you think its worth it - been impressed with PS£ on normal and blu ray so would like to hear from someone who has upgraded

    Not very up on the tech side of things so would value your opinion

    Cheers

    James :lease:
     
  10. Kev12

    Kev12
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,243
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +454
  11. Cooney

    Cooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +163
    I received my 5090 yesterday and even with some basic adjustments I could see picture improvements over my panasonic 42PZ85.

    I will try the Butious settings later.

    I do appear to have two problems with it. The first is that screen buzz is very loud and distracting. The second is that on freeview (ITV1) the picture breaks up momentarily on a very regular basis (approx. once every minute). I am in a very good reception area, replaced the roof aerial a year ago and use good quality cabling. The strength reading for the channel is 83% and the quality 100% - no problem with the incoming signal!
    The aerial cable is routed away from mains cables etc.

    Has anyone else experienced this?

    Finally, does anyone have set up suggestions for freeview? Most settings (understandably) are for HD and games.
     
  12. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,001
    Try ******** settings :smashin: they should suit Freeview as well.
    All the best.
     
  13. moisis

    moisis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Nicosia
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    I have a quite annoying problem with my 5090, and I would really appreciate it if anyone could offer any help.
    My 5090 is connected to a Pioneer 530H DVD Recorder, via component cable. No matter what combination of settings I use (on both the TV and the DVD player), there is some clipping when the camera moves left or right (except when the camera movement is very slow). It's like the movie was shot at 15 frames per second!

    I tried the same movies on my projector, and the problem does not appear.
    I am wondering if this a compatibility problem between the 5090 and component inputs..

    I would appreciate any advice you can give!
    Andreas
     
  14. Off The Fence

    Off The Fence
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North West London
    Ratings:
    +102
    On my set the buzzing is very directional. I can't here it at all from my end of the sofa (which is off centre), but at my wife's end (slap in the middle) it is. She's never complained about it though (and I haven't mentioned it to her ;) ). I also found that using power saving mode 2 stops the buzzing altogether. I've had it in that mode now for a couple of weeks as personally I haven't noticed any degradation in the picture (brightness) during normal viewing (I'm using slightly modified ******** settings)

    HTH
     
  15. Cooney

    Cooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +163
    I too find it very directional. Myself and the better half sit on a 2 seater settee directly in front of the screen and so it is quite pronounced. I will try the power setting 2. Thank you for the advice.
     
  16. Cooney

    Cooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +163
    I am very impressed at the extra contrast on this set but it does tend to accentuate the shortcomings of freeview. I guess I will just keep experimenting.
     
  17. Cooney

    Cooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +163
    Does anyone know about the optical out for audio on this set? I use it to connect to my Denon AV amp and find it to be approx. 8dB lower in level than other sets and I have confirmed that it is independant of the volume control. Is there an adjustment anywhere?
     
  18. Such

    Such
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +191
    I have noticed for some time now whilst watching footie on skyhd the picture seems to flicker light and dark. Difficult to describe, but it seems that the grass is moving? not as sharp, but the players are. this is only noticeable on football, not on anything else. Now that I can see it, it's very annoying and distracting

    Using drive mode 2

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  19. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,001
    Hi Such. :)
    What picture preset are you using mate?
    All the best.
     
  20. Such

    Such
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +191
    Hi KF, Can always rely on you for a speedy reply:thumbsup:
    I'm using standard settings with c32, B, C T all 0, sharp -5, FM standard, picture detail all off, enhancer & gamma 2 colour temp low, cti off, colour management all 0, colour space 2. NR all off.

    Was using bumptious settings but found picture a bit dull.
     
  21. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,001
    Did it flicker with those settings though? it's Standard/User (?) which causes the issues with Sky i'm afraid. :(
     
  22. RogueViper

    RogueViper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was using bumptious settings, but ive adjusted them to suit myself, currently using the colour temp medium/low and colour +1.
     
  23. urvile

    urvile
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Demondim Pit Mount Doom
    Ratings:
    +12
    While still waiting to buy some HD gear I have Sky SD connected via scart to output 1 and my Panasonic DVD PVR connected via scart to output 2. My problem is that when switching the screen on from the switch at the back a loud sound I can only describe as an air raid siren screams out of the under mounted speaker until I rush for the remote and alter the input, Its driving er in doors mad! Any help appreciated...
     
  24. Such

    Such
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Greenhithe
    Ratings:
    +191
    Can't remember if it happened on movie mode, I will check tmrw.
    Why does standard / user cause this problem?

    Thanks
     
  25. beastofrock

    beastofrock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Okehampton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +214
    hey guys, getting my 5090 on Monday but picked up the table top stand today, now having looked through the manual and have now set up the stand but i noticed in the manual it said something about 'anchoring' it to the wall with cable and hooks

    so my question is has anyone done this?
     
  26. Caroline

    Caroline
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just thought I would come on to say we have got our 5090 and Onkyo 876 up and running beautifully. We are knocked out by the picture quality especially after using the settings posted by bumptious. So thanks for that.

    Thanks also to Kingfats and all the others who have wet-nursed us through the set-up procedure. Couldn't have done it without you guys. God, what did we do before the internet and forums?


    Can't wait to do a little tweaking.

    Thanks a lot.
     
  27. Caroline

    Caroline
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Personally, I think the table top stand is so heavy on its own that I wouldn't bother... unless you've got kids or live on a fault line:rolleyes:

    Caroline
     
  28. beastofrock

    beastofrock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Okehampton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +214
    haha well as im still a kid myself (21) i defenitly dont have kids and i live in a rock solid old house up on dartmoor so i will see what its like without the wires then decide what to do from there :thumbsup:
     
  29. bobbymax

    bobbymax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,993
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +190

    I had the same thought's b/4 I had mine delivered.
    You'll get 2 little brackets with the TV to screw it to the stand, if it's not glass, which is what i intendided to do.
    Didn't bother in the end as it's as steady as a rock.

    I think it would take at least a couple of kids to topple it. :D
     
  30. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    With that kind of signal strength and quality reading, if it's not electrical interference, could it possibly be that the receiver is being overloaded with RF? Worth trying an attenuator on the input or removing an amplifiers you may be using on the signal first.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...