1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 909 DVD Laser Disk

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gixer-boy, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. gixer-boy

    gixer-boy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently changed my AMP to a Marantz 5400 from a Yamaha A3090, First problem I had was a demodulator, this is now sorted, but I now find that non AC3 disks will not play Dolby surround signal, have tried all outputs on player and the only thing I find is the Menu on player will not let me set up digital output?

    Gary

    P.S this is only on the Laser disk side DVD works fine:confused:
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,988
    A Dolby Surround signal is actually just stereo. It contains only two channels of information.

    Dolby Surround is actually a process performed on a stereo signal to produce a surround effect. Movies with Dolby Surround logos have simply got stereo soundtracks where the producers, with an understanding of how the surround process works, carefully mix the stereo signal in such a way as to produce predictable effects from this process.

    All you need from your LD player to your amp is a regular, analog stereo cable pair. The amp does the rest, provided you have set it up to do so for this source. Use Dolby ProLogic or ProLogic 2.

    If the soundtrack is not specially mixed in the way described, but it is stereo, then there will still be some rear and centre channel presence, but the rears will be much more subtle.

    If the soundtrack is mono, expect your amp to route pretty much everything to your centre speaker.
     
  3. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    But you will get better sound quality via digital, since there will be no unescessery D/A and A/D conversions. You should be able to get a digital stereo/surround mix via the digital out. I can only think that you have perhaps got the outputs mixed up.
    Dolby Digital from LD will be via the RF out. Dolby Surround and DTS from LD will be via, either an optical or coaxial digital out, as will all formats from DVD. To complicate matters, you have an external De-modulator. This will be fed by the aformentioned RF out of the LD, but the de-mod's output will be via either optical or coaxial digital out, not RF.
    So there will be two digital connections to make into your Marantz. Oh and if you want the commentary tracks on DD LDs you will need to make the analogue stereo connections that Nigel mentioned, since on NTSC LDs the commentary tracks are in analogue only.
     
  4. gixer-boy

    gixer-boy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys thanks for your reply I have connected to the amp via both Digital coaxial and Optical and have Rf going to a Demod, And if I understand what you are telling me where the front panel of my Marantz shows 5/6 speakers for DVD for laser it will only show two and the amp will still be decoding signal?
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,988
    If I recall correctly, the Marantz is not displaying how many channels of sound it is outputting; it is showing how many channels are present on the input - which, for Dolby Prologic, Surround, etc, is two.
     
  6. gixer-boy

    gixer-boy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Nigel
     

Share This Page

Loading...