Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Pioneer 868AVi

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by 337GUS, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +38
  2. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +7
    looks nice
     
  3. 7MAT

    7MAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SURREY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Does that look like a gold finish? or is it silver?

    If its silver then I want!

    7MAT
     
  4. 7MAT

    7MAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SURREY
    Ratings:
    +8
  5. krl25sc

    krl25sc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason at the Heathrow hi-fi show, the Pioneer reps were talking about a retail price of £1200 on the 868 - so that price is quite a relief - the 868 at the show was silver and I thought the picture via HDMI to an HDE 504 50" display was really quite outstanding - hence the imminent appearance of my Samsung 935 (and Panasonic 6 pasma) on the classified forum! Interested to hear what others thought who saw this demonstration.
     
  6. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
  7. Wasabi

    Wasabi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    I wrote about it already in 9th September in my summary thread from the IFA Berlin. But no one took notice? :(

    It is in silver.

    Wasabi
     
  8. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it was going to have a DVI out? Shame
     
  9. krl25sc

    krl25sc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I understand it, you can use an HDMI/DVI adapter at the TV end if you only have a DVI input (although you obviously won't be able to get the audio feed through DVI) - this is actually not so bad as the HDMI cable I saw is quite a bit thinner than a DVI cable.
     
  10. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that mean I could use the HDMI, with adaptor, to plug and play straight into the DVI input on my TW100 projector?
     
  11. 7MAT

    7MAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SURREY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Planning on ordering one of these beauties.

    Where can I buy a HDMI to DVI adaptor?

    7MAT
     
  12. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi,

    You need to take care with HDMI and DVI. HDMI is encryted with HDCP, so your DVI input would need to be HDCP compliant. 7MAT - HDMI to DVI adapters don't appear to have been released yet.

    Steve
     
  13. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using the 868 with the PDA5002 will be a bit limited via DVI, the issue is the DVI input on that boards is limited to 480p Video input. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Tony,

    I don't think it would take even a 480p signal if it is HDCP encryted (more than likely, I think).

    Steve
     
  15. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is perhaps a new (or old) thread... i get confused by DVI etc
    I am planning to get a marantz 8400, which has DVI out, will I be able to just plug it into the back of my TW100 and enjoy digital to digital cinematic heaven
     
  16. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve, HDMI will only be HDCP if the source is HDCP encrypted to begin with, ie it has HDCP flags on the DVD. If this is not the case, then 480p will be OK (theoretically) with the PDA5002 via DVI & cable.

    Warboy, yes you will . What you will need to look into is future HDCP content (copyprotected). Basically to display this type of conent everything from source to display must support HDCP. So that is the DVD player, your amp and the projector in your case.

    The problems we are refering to are with respect to the Pioneer 433MXE & its PDA5002 board.
     
  17. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Tony,

    I thought it was the player that added the HDCP signal, as happens with the Samsung HD931 in the US. :confused:

    Steve
     
  18. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve.

    My understanding is the 'handshake' process is initiated with other components only if flags are on the source to begin with. Hence its backwards compatability with DVI (both HDCP and Non-HDCP).

    Tony
     
  19. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is HDCP going to be addded to al DVD's - R1 & R2? If so, when is this likely to take place?
     
  20. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    This is mistaken - if the DVD is CSS protected so that Macrovision is enabled on the analogue video outputs, then HDCP coding will be applied to a DVI or HDMI digital video output. In practice this would mean just about all regular DVDs would switch on HDCP.

    If your display is not HDCP compliant these digital video outputs are essentially unusable!

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  21. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, Im not sure if I should thank you for that clarifcation or not !:eek: :D
     
  22. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    me neither - does that mean the DVI out is redundant, save for watching back catalogue discs on a player with DVI (not HDMI) out???
     
  23. warboy

    warboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    me neither - does that mean the DVI out is redundant, save for watching back catalogue discs on a player with DVI (not HDMI) out???
     
  24. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically means that if you buy one of these players (in fact I imagine any of the other pending branded players - ie Denon A11) with a HDCP DVI/HDMI output, then in order to use these outputs your display will have to support HDCP, this will be the case with pretty much *all DVD's*.
     
  25. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +7
    what the ell is hdcp
     
  26. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Extract from AVSFORUM:-

     
  27. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +7
    how do we know if a display can use hdcp then.
    say the sony hs3
     
  28. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Yeah, or the HS20 or Infocus 5700? The respective dvd makers websites are not clear if at all on this.

    S.
     
  29. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your display will state whether its HDCP compliant, it will be a key feature. Alternativly, as with some plasma's, youll have the opportunity to purchase a DVI/HDCP input board. A key thing point to remember is to play HDCP content everything within the chain from source to panel must support HDCP.
     
  30. wendt

    wendt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sony HS3 & HS20 will both have HDMI outputs and as I'm aware HDMI must always incorporate HDCP.

    About DVI and HDCP.
    If you look at the specifications on for example InFocus 5700 you can read "DVI/HDCP".
    I'm pretty sure that all DVI products that incorporate HDCP writes this in the specifications.
    So if you see DVI output but not HDCP next to it, it will probably not handle HDCP.

    /Wendt
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice