1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 868AVi Overscan ??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by tbrar, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if any one can shed some light on a matter :confused:

    I have just bought the 868AVi or use with my set up. Currently I am connecting via Component as the HDMI-DVI cable has not been delivered yet (ETA - next week sometime).

    I also use a HTPC as a source (connected by DVI) and when comparing the two pictures produced (from 868 and HTPC) there seems to be a noticable overscan/underscan?? (pixel cropping ??) produced by the 868AVi.

    Basically when looking at test paterns it appears that the top/bottom/left & right of image is missing compared to the output of the HTPC. Also, black bars on 2:35:1 movies are noticably smaller - as if the picture has been zoomed in.

    Has anyone else noticed this ?, is there any way to adjust for it?
     
  2. davech

    davech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, this is a bit of a tangent, but can I ask where you got your 868 player from? There seems to be a serious shortage in the UK...
     
  3. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    B&B HiFi In Reading, Berkshire have a few left I beleive

    [edit] included their web site, bought mine yesterday http://www.bbhifi.co.uk/reading.asp [edit]

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. davech

    davech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Can I ask how much you paid for it? They have just quoted me 899UKP, which sounds a little expensive to me...
     
  5. 7MAT

    7MAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SURREY
    Ratings:
    +8
    The price listed on there website says £999.00 !!!!!

    I think I'll keep my back-order with Techtronics @ £789.99 inc vat, delivery & region-mod!

    7MAT
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I've set my system up with the DVE disk which has an overscan test shot on it and it looked like my player was displaying 100% of the image.
    I have it connected via HDMI to a 504 plasma.
    I haven't compared the image with any other connection types (scart, component, etc,).
     
  7. davech

    davech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They have a "special" deal on it...

    You'll be waiting a while longer for your back-ordered player. According to Pioneer, the next batch of stock won't be arriving from Japan until the end of Feb.

    Sorry for hijacking your thread by the way, tbrar. :blush:
     
  8. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brogan, thanks for response.

    I was thinking it may be the analouge outputs of the 868 only or it could be the Marantz's analouge inputs.

    Its not to much of an issue, Ill just await that HDMI-DVI cable ...
     
  9. mikeycrawford

    mikeycrawford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    As an aside, Scan are flogging a cheap DVI-HDMI cable for about a tenner, and have them in stock. Mine arrived yesterday so I've been having a play with a HTPC via HDMI to a Pioneer plasma. Picture seems fine, though I'm no expert on cable quality.
     
  10. mikeycrawford

    mikeycrawford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    :oops: just noticed this is a very old thread from my Search results on HDMI. Apologies :blush:
     
  11. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Shortage?
    Mine's on Ebay Germany next Sunday (almost new) because I've ordered a Denon 3910. I'm used to shipping to UK so you Brits are welcome to bid. Nothing wrong with the thing but the Wife wants Black!
    Barend
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Tony: If you've still got your old Vision you could plug the component outputs in to it and fire up the input sizing adjustments to see if the analogue section of the DVD player is actually sticking out all the info or whether it's the Marantz.
    MENU IN ADJ SIZE T/L AND B/R.

    Gordon
     
  13. Supernatural

    Supernatural
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not in short supply now as they were. One was offered in the classifieds for only £650 but nobody was interested. If I didn't already have one then I would have bitten his arm off.

    Paul
     
  14. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gordon, I do still have the Lumagen, however do not have the 868 !!. This thread was started some time ago when I first bought the 868, but I think was mistakenly restarted. I sold the 868 recently and for now am just using the HTPC. Ill get in contact soon actually to see when you are next down South and may well ask you to ISF the S3 if OK ??
     
  15. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Hi Tony,

    I realised after I posted it was old. Still it's good to hear your alive and well. Cheers,

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...