Pioneer 868 HDMI snag

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jack the lad, Jul 20, 2004.

  1. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    I have a Pioneer 868 connected to a Sony HS20 pj.

    The snag is it keeps switching off from HDMI ,well the pioneer HDMI light goes out. The pj then jumps from HDMI input to MS (next input along)

    I dont know if its the Pioneer or the HS20 :confused:

    Anyone had this before or got any ideas?
     
  2. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    Had exactly the same problem with a 868 and an Infocus 7200 projector ie the HDMI would not lock on properly. I knew the projector was OK as I'd previously used DVi and it worked fine.

    To cut a long story short, I gave up after a lot of research. My opinion is that the Pioneer is at fault and not outputting a pukka HDMI-format signal, but rather, Pioneers' version of it. That's why it works with Pioneer plasmas but not too well elsewhere.

    Apparently the problem has been rectified in recent Pioneers, in the firmware, and there is also a German company selling modified 868s which work via HDMI. There is quite a long thread somewhere on AVS forum about it, but I'm 99.9999% certain that the Pioneer is at fault, with apologies to 868 owners if I'm wrong (but please remember I was also an owner too!).

    Paul
     
  3. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Cheers Paul :)

    What have you done with your 868?

    Do you know if Pioneer send out a firmware update via cd maybe?

    Cheers

    Jack
     
  4. Lepton

    Lepton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1
    This may sound stupid but... try fiddling with the cable connectors! I had the same problem the other day, but I had already seen a couple of movies before, so I was sure it wasn't a compatibility issue. At first I though that there might be some electricity fluctuations (there was a big blackout some hours earlier), so I didn't try much. Next day, same thing, but this time I tried plugging and unplugging the hdmi a couple of times more and... voila!

    Actually, when I was trying the cable out at the store, there was also a lot of fuss before the signal finally got through, but I didn't get the on/off phenomenon at that time.

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    I got rid of the 868, which is a shame because its a cracker, even on component, s video etc.

    My issue is that I have an LCD TV and a projector, both with DVi input, so I do want this facility.

    Re firmware - I think there may be a firmware issue but you really need to search AVS Forum on this; I'm not following it now because I don't have the 868.

    Good luck!

    Regards - Paul
     
  6. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Thanks Guys :)

    I did try fiddling with the cable the other night and sure enough I did eventually get it going. I havent tried it since (HT room not finnished yet :thumbsdow ).

    I will do a search on AVS.
     
  7. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Firstly BIG thanks to Pioneer UK Tech support and the boyz in Mansfield service centre (Sequoia Technical Services, nice one Stewart :thumbsup: ).

    The Pioneer is the culprit and there is a firmware fix :smashin:

    Cheers for the replies :)
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Are you getting a firmware update from Pioneer?
    I would be interested in getting this for mine too.
     
  9. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Good point and bugger!
    Thanks for the link.
     
  11. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Sh#t never thought of multi region :blush:

    I will check it out today and post later.

    It is a pioneer certified service centre (Sequoia Technical Services, Mansfield, Notts) and it will be a firmware upgrade supplied by Pioneer.
     
  12. Lepton

    Lepton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1
    Which firmware is that? Have they specifically told you that the new firmware sorts out the hdmi problem? Somehow I think they are making their own assumptions.

    Anyway, if you did sort the problem out, why are you going through all the fuss? Some say "If it ain't broken, don't fix it"...
     
  13. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the upgrade sort out those bl**dy silly "auto side bars" in 4:3 mode?
     
  14. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Link does no t open anymore!
     
  15. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    According to Pioneer UK its a fault that they know about and the firmware fixes the problem.

    I dont think fiddling with a cable at the back of the unit would cure a fault in the DVD player :) However I watched Hellboy last night and didnt have any problems. But whilst the firmware fix is on offer Im going for it. Just incase it raises its ugly head again.

    PS I have been assured that the firmware doesnt interfere with multi region :D
     
  16. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Where are you getting the firmware update from?
    Does it come on CD or do you have to send the unit off to the retailer/Pioneer?
     
  17. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
  18. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for the link - I'll give the one near me a call on Monday.

    Presumably this is a FOC update?
     
  19. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry of my post is a little irrelevant, but I am after an 868. Can you recommend a good (i.e. cost effective!) place to get one?

    I am not adverse to purchasing 2nd hand, any suggestions on where to look would be appreciated!

    Thanks
     
  20. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Most online places sell the 868 at about the same price (~ £800) so just pick from one of the many forum sponsors and you won't go far wrong.
     
  21. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86

Share This Page

Loading...