pioneer 737

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by leon, Dec 8, 2001.

  1. leon

    leon
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +67
    can the progresive scan on the 737 only be used if you use RGB.
    I have a good quality svhs lead but if progresive works with rgb only then ill think of changing ,this is feeding a projector
    thx
     
  2. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi.
    The progressive scan output only works via the "Component" outputs(The three coloured phonos at the back). And at this moment in time, only on NTSC discs.

    RGB only carries progressive when used with a scaler/HTPC, when outputting a computer type signal etc.

    I believe the "Skyworth" dvd player is the only player that can do this.
     
  3. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    10,184
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +8,217
    Just to add to Paul's comments, the Denon 2800 can be hacked to playback pal progressive also, via a firmware hack.
     
  4. leon

    leon
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +67
    is there a great difference between (svhs) and component (both of good quality ) or is it minimal...
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +543
    Leon.
    The good news is the difference is between Svideo and Component can be dramatic!.
    The picture will be clearer, giving more detail. Plus the colours will be more saturated, and it also seems to help with contrast.
    If i'm right in thinking you have the new SonyVW11HT, then it may be better to just feed it interlaced(non progressive) component from your Pioneer737. This is because that way the Sonys own "built-in" de-interlacer can do Pal/NTSC progressive, with the added 3-2 pulldown etc.

    You may find the Sonys own de-interlacer is better than the Pioneers. Experiment and let us know!.
     
  6. leon

    leon
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +67
    another question ,the projector would need about 8 mtrs of cable (red/green/blue) (bummer i just spent £160 on a svhs cable )from qed.do you have any names of company that do all these wires rolled into one ,ill have to retrace these back into the ceiling and wall :( i would like the best quality ones like vandenhull or silver line ,if you have any web sites that i can look at i would be greatfull and prices ..................
    thank you
     
  7. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +543
    It might be better "borrowing" a Component lead first, since you spent so much on the Svideo lead. This way you could decide if the change wil be worth it.

    I was using a "Vivanco Prowire" 10 metre Svideo lead. Svideo doesn't travel so well over long cables. The Sony does have a very good Svideo input decoder. So the high quality one you bought might not lose as much info as mine did etc.

    The difference wasn't night and day as such.
    I just found after swopping, i started noticing so much extra detail. Plus the picture had more "punch" and "3D-ness".

    Going back to Svideo after a week "just to see" was like looking at a "photo copy"!. The picture went flat, and detail seemed hazy.

    It was well worth the money "IMHO".;)
     
  8. leon

    leon
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +67
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,959
    Get your long cables custom made from Lektropacks. My 3xRCA > 3xRCA 10m cable cost about £70 from their best range. And it's perfect for the job.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice