1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 575A video permanently monochrome...

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by dpitchford, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. dpitchford

    dpitchford
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    I've been using my Pioneer 575A fine for two months. Then a friend introduced a disc with a DIVx movie on it and from that moment on all output has been in black and white - from the screensaver, to the GUI to DVDs.

    I have checked and changed all the cabling. Still B&W. No settings have been changed (I checked they hadn't defulted to something else) on the player or on the TV.

    Help!
     
  2. ReggieDaMole

    ReggieDaMole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    The fields of Anfield Road
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you are running a SVHS output into a Composite / RGB input. make sure you are using an svhs av input on your tv if you are using svhs out on your DVD player.
     
  3. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    somehow I imagine it has been switched to output s-video rather than RGB, and now your TV is treating the s-video as composite (all these are on the same SCART cable) and therefore only displaying the luminence information
     
  4. dpitchford

    dpitchford
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much for the replies. I have checked all the settings already and they are all the same as they were before (when it all worked fine, plain 'video' output etc), as is all the cabling (a SCART into an RF modulator and into my ancient TV - don't ask - and I have checked the RF modulator using the VCR and it's fine, no problem there). I'm thinking I may simply have a fault...
     
  5. rickardl

    rickardl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +127
    Does you TV/Display handle NTSC? I am wondering if that divx movie
    set the player to NTSC and after that displays everything in NTSC which
    looks B/W on a PAL display. Hold down the next-chapter button
    on the front while pressing the power button to cycle through
    the display options; AUTO, PAL and NTSC.
     
  6. league67

    league67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    while in standby, hold down stop button on front of dvd, and then turn it on.
     
  7. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +267
    Has the input on yout tv been accidently been changed to svhs?
     
  8. dpitchford

    dpitchford
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rickardl - you da man! That was the problem! D'oh. It was on Auto. I changed it to NTSC and now it all works fine. I have also ordered a firmware update from Pioneer. Many thanks for everyone's advice and thoughts - much appreciated.
     
  9. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    The firmware takes a while to arrive from Pioneer. You can download it from AVLAND and burn yourself to cd.
     

Share This Page

Loading...