1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 575a Sound but no Picture??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by micol, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi!

    I've just bought the Pioneer DVD575a and i'm having difficulty playing a couple of avi files (XviD). The sound plays fine but the picture does not appear.

    Anyone else had this problem??
     
  2. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    nope... I guess something is wrong with the encoding. Try re-encoding them as divx 5 see if they work.
     
  3. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for your reply NX3. Is there a good guide for reincoding that you know of? They both have AC3 audio that I really want to keep, but some of the gudes/progs I have seen loose the AC3.
     
  4. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    I dont know of any web guides but its fairly straight forward not to re-encode the audio.
     
  5. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Could you tell me how?
     
  6. rickardl

    rickardl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +127
    Yes, with avis with a resolution greater than 720x480(NTSC)
    or 720x576(PAL). You would need a 'Divx HD' player for that.
     
  7. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    that makes sense for one of my avi's as the screen size is 960x528. But what about this one:

    Total Streams: 2
    Running Time: 2:12:38
    Index Chunk: Yes
    Interleaved: Yes
    Max Bytes Per Sec: 0
    AUDIO: 0 - AC3 (0x2000)
    Average Bitrate Per Sec: 448 kb/s
    Samples Rate: 48000 Hz
    Channels: 5
    Bits Per Sample: 0
    SuggestedBufferSize: 28000
    Sample Size: 1
    VIDEO: XVID
    B-VOP: Yes
    S(GMC)-VOP: No
    QuarterPixel: No
    Frame Size: 640 x 256
    Frames Rate: 25.000
    Color Depth: 24
    Total Frames: 198957
    SuggestedBufferSize: 149922
     
  8. saibot

    saibot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Near the Lee - Ireland
    Ratings:
    +42
    Just had a similar issue with an avi thats 960x528, capture from a HD source. Did you ever get any procedure to make it fit the Pio ??

    d...
     
  9. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can't quite remember what I dod in the end. I think I used Dr.Divx. It dosen't do AC3 audio though. You can split the audio out with virtual Dub and then join it back after though.

    Sorry I can't be any more help!
     
  10. Prayer

    Prayer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...